“The Legend of the Sleepy Hollow and Other Macabre Tales” by Washington Irving

Available at Barnes & Noble

Totally love this book although I rushed through it at the end. The tales are unsettling but not scary. I’ve always heard of them and assumed that they were very scary, probably because of the movies inspired by them. I found Legend of the Sleepy Hollow with Johnny Depp very scary.

Washington Irving is a great short story writer and I love his witty writing style and his descriptions: detailed but not burdensome. I also enjoy the little lessons he incorporated into the stories and the unexpected endings. These are tales and legends and I love the way they are told: like when one sits by a camp fire at midnight and listen to a wizened elder retell tales that have been passed down from generations.

Definitely makes me want to read up on some Dutch folk tales.

2 thoughts on ““The Legend of the Sleepy Hollow and Other Macabre Tales” by Washington Irving

  1. Pingback: You can’t Reason with a Headless Man – or a 7 year old… | My Magnificent Mess

  2. Pingback: What is your most valuable book? |

Leave a Reply

