Jamaicans Run Tings!! – The Olympics begins.

Jamaican athletes at the 2012 Olympics in London.

The Olympics has begun and, like everyone else, I will be fervently rooting for my country JAMAICA!!!! I hope that we come out on top again in track and field. I can hardly wait!

I shall now take the time to gloat.

It was just 4 years ago, in 2008, when Usain Bolt broke the world record in Beijing, making him the fastest man in the world. Yes, JAMAICA has the fastest man in the world. I remember sitting in front the television with my parents when the race started. I was supposed to have left to go to my part-time job but I had to call out “sick”. There was no way I was going to miss cheering for Jamaica. When Usain broke the record, I jumped around and screamed at the top of my lungs along with my parents. Then we all jumped on the phone and the internet to contact all our friends and family members to spread, confirm, and share the historic moment.

“Hardships there are, but the land is green and the sun shineth.”

Jamaica first entered the Olympics in 1948, the last time it was held in London. Since then, Jamaica has entered the summer Olympics 17 times between 1948 and 2008. The 2012 Olympics will be Jamaica’s 18th entry. According to TeamJA.org, in 1960, Jamaica competed as part of the West Indies Federation team. The website also states that Jamaica won medals in all but two games; thus the total number of medals so far is 54.

I shall be sporting the colors of my flag every day starting today, July 28, to August 12 in support of my country. For more on the Jamaican athletes competing in the 2012 Olympics, visit the Jamaican Observer’s website. Make sure to check out the 2012 Olympics website for schedules.

 

One thought on “Jamaicans Run Tings!! – The Olympics begins.

  1. Pingback: Jamaican Flag: Black, Yellow, Green « Jah Doily

Leave a Reply

