Book Haul #4: With Comics & a Mag Thrown In

It’s a May book haul!! Hopefully it’ll be my only one because I need to save money. This one was unplanned. I thought to visit the bookstore to restore some calm in my day but while there I fell into a conversation with the seller in the kids department. She had just read some YA novels that she was excited about so of course I got excited and told her to show them to me, which she of course did. We spent a couple minutes discussing books, almost half an hour, and by the end of our discussion I had a pile that I refused to get rid off so off I went to check out. What I got:

Talon by Julie Kagawa

Talon

I grabbed this one first because I like the concept of the story — dragons turning into humans and being hunted. It reminds me of Seraphina, and I want to compare the stories. Also, I love the cover. It looks like scales and its texture makes it feel like scales too.

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Throne of Glass

This one was second, and the seller was really excited about it. Actually, I’d intended to purchase just two novels — this and Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch (lol, similar names) — but Snow Like Ashes wasn’t available (I was told it’s in the land between hardcover and paperback). As stated in my other discussions of this book, I’ve heard lots about it, got curious, purchased it. Status: currently reading

Splintered by A.G. Howard

Splintered

The bookseller didn’t recommend this one but I’ve always wanted to read it because I love the bright cover. (Yes, I am a MAJOR judge of books by their cover.) I’m curious to know whether I’ll like it or not. I read the first page and a random page in the middle and liked them so I dropped the book in my basket. The bookseller had read it when it came out and she said the story was okay, but she wasn’t as excited about it as she was for Red Queen, Cinder, Selection, and An Ember in the Ashes, all of which I grabbed and whittled out my pile.

Journey to the Center of the Earth by Jules Verne

Journey to the Center of the Earth

I’d downloaded an e-book version of this from Early Bird Books but didn’t the like the translation. It was clunky and there were a few minor spelling errors so I wondered if a print copy of the story would be similar. I was glad to learn that it wasn’t. After reading a few paragraphs of the Barnes & Noble Classics series edition, I was convinced that I should add it to my basket. Not only was it easier to read, it also had illustrations within, which I’m always glad for. Status: read; review coming soon.

Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick

Silver Linings Playbook

I’ve wanted to read this book ever since watching the movie on Netflix. It was on the Barnes & Noble bargain table for….I forgot the price but it was under $10 so I got it.

Paperblanks Ocean Song mini notebook

Ocean Song mini book

My little, old, simple spiral-bound notebook that I write random things in is worn so I wanted to replace it with something just as small but pretty. I picked up this notebook because it matches my zodiac sign, Pisces, and I like the poem under the flap:

Close your eyes and Dream a Dream

and Seek the Courage to make it Real

Reflect on the Past

Envision the Future

and embrace today with an open heart and soul.

The artwork is by Laurel Burch, a self-taught artist. I don’t know who the poem is by.

New Philosopher: Medicating the Masses

New Philosopher Summer 2015

I got hooked on this magazine after reading one issue. I bought its Spring 2015 issue — I am the chosen one — back in January or February and gobbled up all the articles. It’s a good issue about how narcissistic we’ve become. Ever since completing that issue, I’ve searched for the following one (I hadn’t realized they were published quarterly), and now I have it! I can’t wait to start reading.

I also went to Second Story Books in Dupont Circle where I found this book in its sidewalk sale:

Gnomes by Wil Nuygen, illustrated by Rien Poortvliet

Gnomes

This is a hardcover copy that was published in 1977. I enjoy reading about fairy creatures, and this one goes in detail about gnomes and their lifestyle. I also like the illustrations, which made me a little nostalgic because they reminded me of storybooks I read when I was a kid and also of a middle-grade novel that I borrowed from a friend when I was in primary school in Jamaica. I’ve been searching for that book but can’t find it because I’ve forgotted the title and author. All I recall is that it begins with a little girl chasing a pixie or gnome or fairy through a garden and that the book’s cover was pink. I really want to get that book and read it again. 😦

Last, I went to a comic book store that had opened in Dupont Circle last year — Fantom Comics. It’s located about two shops down from Second Story Books. Again, the excitement of the sellers infected me and I garnered a pile of comics that I refused to leave behind. I’m not familiar with comics and graphic novels, apart from Archie and Maus I and II, so I needed help navigating and the sellers were glad to advise me. Also, they have a huge poster of an infographic to help customers select comics. Here’s what I got:

Saga, Vol. 1 by Brian K. Vaughan, illustrated by Fiona Staples

Saga1

This one is mentioned often on booktube and everywhere else. Whenever I ask for comics recommendations, this is usually the first one mentioned so I bee-lined for it when I got to the store. Also, I find the characters on the cover intriguing. The first time I saw the cover (before hearing anyone gush over it), I was curious: Is that a Black lady with green wings? What’s going on? What’s that about?

The Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 1: The Faust Act by Kieron Gillen, illustrated by Jamie McKelvie

The Wicked and the Divine1

So picking up Saga sparked a conversation with a bookseller and a customer. While talking, the cover for this one caught me eye and I picked it up which excited them. They highly recommended it, and once they told me what it’s about — ancient gods as celebrities — I was sold. I’m hoping that it’s some sort of commentary on how celebrities are regarded these days; but even if it’s not, I’m sure I’ll like it; or at least enjoy staring at the illustrations.

Rat Queens, Vol. 1: Sass & Sorcery by Kurtis J. Wiebe, illustrated by Roc Upchurch and Ed Brisson

Rat Queens1

For some reason I wanted another comic book after picking up the previous two so the cashier pointed out a few to me. Of her recommendations, I selected this one because she said it’s about women saving the world and cursing and drinking while they do it….not sure if that’s exactly what she said but the words that sold me were: super, women, cursing, drinking. SOLD!

Infinite Spiral, Vol. 1: Another World by Kristy Cunningham

Infinite Spiral1

This was on the counter by the cashier. I picked it up because it’s purple. (Yeah, I buy things for the weirdest reasons.) After purchasing it I asked what it’s about but forgot shortly after leaving the store, but I couldn’t stop staring at the cover. I read it all on my way to work a few days later. I like the story and the illustrations, and I’m glad to learn that it’s a webcomic; so if you’d like to read it too, click here.

And that’s it for the month of May….unless Snow Like Ashes comes out in paperback before June. I don’t think I’ll go to the comic book store anytime soon (**fingers crossed**). They’re mad expensive!

So what books have you bought or hope to buy?

Also, if you have any comics/graphic novel recommendations, please leave them below. 🙂

14 thoughts on “Book Haul #4: With Comics & a Mag Thrown In

  1. Wow, so many goodies where to begin, yum, yum, yum, yum, yum,yum, yum, cussing drinking super women, I’ll have three please, knomes!!!, some of my best friends, ya know. Pretty pieces. Don’t mention purple, wings!, green!, i said can i take your coat, and it’s only Tuesday,wow.:-D

    Like

  2. I was recently lucky to win Talon from a publisher twitter giveaway and I can’t wait to read it! Like you, I adore the cover and especially enjoy twisting it in the light to bring out the scales. 🙂 I like the concept so I hope it turns out to be a good read. The Silver Linings Playbook was also a big hit with me – such a raw and beautiful book, I hope you enjoy it!

    P.S. love the way you’ve set out the pics of your books. 🙂

    Like

    • Oh! Lucky you! I love running my hands over the cover. And I hope it’s a good read too. I want to read it soon, maybe in a couple weeks, while Rachel Hartman’s “Seraphina” and “Shadow Scale” are still fresh in my mind.

      I hope I enjoy “The Silver Linings Playbook” as well. I enjoyed the movie more than I thought I would so I’m looking forward to reading it. While buying it, I foggily recalled you saying that the book is great when I mentioned the movie either on Goodreads or on your blog. I wasn’t sure (I have a horrible memory). But thank you for saying so! 🙂

      Thank you!

      Like

      • Yeah I couldn’t believe it, I never win anything!!!

        Ahh cool, in that case, I especially hope you like it! Hehee. I did review it on my blog and it was also one of my main reads when I did a 24hr readathon, so maybe it’s from that. 🙂

        Just to warn you, some aspects of the book are VERY different to the movie, but not in a bad way!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Throne of Glass is amazing! I actually wrote a review on it, and I highly recommend it, especially as a series. The second and third were also really good. The fourth book is supposed to come out in September, and I’m really excited for it! 🙂

    Like

    • A lot of readers love “Throne of Glass” but I’m still making up my mind about it. I just finished it a few hours ago. After the story picked it up, it had me hooked until the end. And the cover — Oh the cover! — it’s so soft and smooth and purple (a bit unrelated but I love covers).

      Like

      • I love covers too! There are a few books that I have read simply because I thought the cover was pretty. As for Throne of Glass, the second book was just as good as the first, in my opinion, and I think the third was my favorite!

        Like

  4. Saga is great. Each volume gets better too. I have also read Rat Queens and The Wicked + The Divine. Both were good, though the plot of Wicked confused me a tad. I think I need to read more volumes once they come out to get a better sense of the big picture.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks for including my link! Throne of Glass is one of my favorite ongoing series, so I hope you love it as much as I do! I’ve been wanting to start Saga and Rat Queens ever since Regan from PeruseProject on YouTube read and reviewed them. Happy hauling/reading!

    Like

    • You’re welcome! It has a slow start but now I’m hooked and almost spent the whole night reading.
      I love watching booktubers so I’ll check out this Regan as well.
      Thanks for dropping by! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

