Exploring My Bookshelves: A tour of the Riordan shelf

Exploring My Bookshelves is a weekly meme created by Addlepates and Book Nerds.

First, you post a picture of your bookshelf (preferably literal but e-shelves work too):

Since I don’t like broadcasting the untidiness of my overall bookcase, I’ll just show the shelf I’ll discuss. Fingers crossed that I get a new bookcase soon to manage the overflow.

Riordan shelf

As you can see, I have all the series: Percy Jackson & the Olympians, The Heroes of Olympus, and The Kane Chronicles. I didn’t bother with the supplemental publications. I considered getting the Percy Jackson & Kane Chronicles Crossover series but haven’t bothered to yet. I think they’re available as e-books.

The Sword of Summer, the first in the Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard series will be out on October 6 so I’ll plop it on my shelf then.

Second, you get something about your shelf to write about (favorite cover, favorite author, book you most recently bought, etc.):

For May 15th: books you bought the instant they were released

Third, give the blurb and the cover of the book, and what you thought of it if you’ve read it:

Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief 10th anniversary

Of all my books, I think it’s Rick Riordan’s middle-grade fantasy series that I always buy the instant they’re released. Apart from the story, I also love the covers, which is why I bought the Barnes & Noble 10th-anniversary collectors edition of Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief that was published on May 12.

First, there’s a mural on the inside of the dust jacket, then behind the book’s covers are all the covers used for this book around the world, and John Rocco, the illustrator, shares his thoughts on the cover art. So although it should have been the author and his story that grab me, I was more attracted to the art and the illustrator behind it.

This edition makes me so excited that I might do a similar post to my Favorite Harry Potter Book Covers post for Riordan’s books.

Fourth, link your post.

Please share your thoughts below, as well as what books you couldn’t bear waiting for.

One thought on “Exploring My Bookshelves: A tour of the Riordan shelf

  1. Pingback: Exploring My Bookshelves: Thinking of the Future | Zezee with Books

Leave a Reply

