Would You Rather Book Tag

I’ve seen several booktubers do this book tag (TOTALLY addicted to booktube!!) but I decided to partake after reading Ashley’s post over at Socially Awkward Bookworm …. I like the questions and I enjoyed reading her answers as well as that of others (tagged below) so I thought to myself, “Why not?!”

Well, here I go:

Would you rather only read trilogies or only read standalones?

Hmm… not an easy question to answer since I like it when a story I love continues in several books. Still, it’s highly satisfying to read a story that’s completed in one book. So… I’ll go with trilogies. That way there’s more to look forward to and explore.

Would you rather only read male or female authors?

It doesn’t matter to me since I hardly pay attention to the author’s gender when I read a story.

Would you rather shop at Barnes and Noble or Amazon?

BARNES & NOBLE!! 😀 Although they’re more expensive. I just realize that I don’t get much benefits as a B&N member when I shop in the stores. I hardly purchase current bestsellers and I tend to shy away from hardbacks so all I get off my purchases is a measly 10%, which works out to about $1 off. If I shop online at B&N, my purchases would be a bit cheaper AND I’ll get free shipping; but I love visiting the bookstore so much that it’s hard to tell if I’ll ever stop buying in store. As for Amazon, I do like purchasing e-books from them and Instant Movies.

Would you rather books were made into TV shows or movies?

Well it depends. For trilogies and beyond, I prefer TV shows because more can be included and fleshed out. Standalone books can be made into movies — movies that are done well.

Would you rather read only 5 pages per day or 5 books per week?

I prefer 5 pages per day. I think that if I should read 5 books per week I wouldn’t pay much attention to what I read and the stories would be quickly erased from my mind. I prefer for a story to stick so although it will take forever to get through a large book, I’d prefer to read 5 pages per day and really examine what I read and spend quality time with the story.

Would you rather be a professional author or reviewer?

Can I choose both? I choose both. I’d love to become a professional author, once I work up confidence in my capabilities, and I’d love to become a professional reviewer of middle-grade and YA novels. I think both are awesome professions and I hope that my efforts will lead to one or both.

Would you rather be a librarian or a bookseller?

A BOOKSELLER!! 😀 I’ve wanted to be a bookseller since high school, and although I have a great job now at a newspaper, I still would love to be a bookseller. If I didn’t have crazy student loans to worry about, I would probably quit and become a bookseller if I got an offer. I really would. Right now I’d love to work part-time at a bookstore. I’ve applied at bookstores ever since I was old enough to work in this country and I’ve never gotten a position. 😦 Part of me thinks there’s a poster of me in all bookstore lunchrooms stating that I’m banned from working at any bookstore. I think this is a fault in my stars. But I shall not stop applying. One of these days a bookstore will have pity and hire me.

Would you rather read only your favorite genre, or every other genre but your favorite?

I’d rather read only my favorite genre — fantasy (adult, YA, and middle-grade) — since there’re many books in it that I haven’t yet read. Sometimes I feel as if I’m discovering it for the first time since the amount of books I’ve read in this genre are minimal, well, they seem minimal to me.

Would you rather only read e-books or physical books?

Physical books. I love holding a book in my hands, caressing the cover (especially if it’s the texture of the Throne of Glass paperback. OMG, it’s so soft!), feeling the rough texture of the pages. I love the scent of a new book, and I love being able to easily flip to the cover while reading. Oh, I love my books! If I’m not sure that I’ll like a story (and I don’t find the cover of the book appealing), then I’ll get the e-book.

And there you have it. Another tag that reveals my oddity to you. I hope you enjoyed reading. I tag everyone who reads this. Please share your thoughts below and if you decide to do this tag, link back to my post so I can visit yours and read. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Would You Rather Book Tag

  1. Professional: 3 Displaying a high level of competence or skill.
    I think you might be pro already without realising it zee,
    But if payment will help (it’ll have to be virtual for now) will $5000 pr/hour be ok 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

