Exploring My Bookshelves: Thinking of the Future

Exploring My Bookshelves is a weekly meme created by Addlepates and Book Nerds.

First, you post a picture of your bookshelf (preferably literal but e-shelves work too):

I’m continuing with the format of my last Exploring My Bookshelves post and will only show the shelf I’ll discuss in this post. I’m currently tidying my bookshelf so stay tuned for an update to the untidiness.

for the kids shelf

Second, you get something about your shelf to write about (favorite cover, favorite author, book you most recently bought, etc.):

For May 22nd: books you want to keep for your kids (or have kept for you kids)

Third, give the blurb and the cover of the book, and what you thought of it if you’ve read it:

Well, I don’t have any kids so the books I show in the picture above and discuss below are those that I’ll most likely to share with my future kids. Not all are kids books. Giving kids kiddie books are a given. These are stories that stood out to me that I’d like my future kids to experience.

The books are:

  1. Grimm’s Fairy Tales and those compiled by Hans Christian Andersen too
    • It’s those Disney books that got me interested in these so I’ll pass it along to the next generation. I’ll probably read them the originals, ha ha!
  2. The Neverending Story by Michael Ende
    • I have yet to meet someone who has read this book and not like it. It’s a lovely story and the structure of the book is sure to entice the kids what with the chapters in different colors and illustrations at the beginning of each chapter.
  3. The Templeton Twins Have an Idea by Ellis Weiner
    • This is a recent one, published back in 2013. I love the story and the illustrations and I think kids will have fun trying to solve the various puzzles the author includes while helping the twins solve their problem.
  4. A Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula Le Guin
    • I read this at a young age and loved it; reread it a year or so ago and still loved it. I’ll share this one with the future kids because it’s a wonderful, simple story.
  5. The Chronicles of Prydain by Lloyd Alexander
    • I’m missing book 4 in the picture but it’s on its way from Book Outlet. It’s a lovely, fun story with great lessons within. And it’s not too preachy.
  6. The Princess Bride by William Goldman
    • Awesome story. I’d like to read this to my kids like the narrator does. I would get a kick outta that.
  7. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien
    • As a book lover of fantasy novels, this is a must. I’d get an illustrated copy for the kids though.
  8. The Song of the Lioness by Tamora Pierce
    • Pierce has been a favorite author of mine since my tween years so Yeah! the kiddies will sample this one too. Alanna is such a wonderful character that I’d want my kids to meet her.
  9. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis
    • The camera quality isn’t great so the spine doesn’t show well in the picture. Anywho, this also is a must. It’s like an introduction into fantasy and, as a book lover of fantasy, it’s my solemn duty to introduce the kids to the genre, in case they might like it.
  10. The Septimus Heap series by Angie Sage
    • I haven’t completed this series but they are fun stories and I think kids will enjoy the books even more than me.
  11. The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling
    • This is another must. No explanation needed.

And that’s it. Hopefully the future kids will enjoy these.

Note: All reviewed books can be found on the Quick Find page.

Fourth, link your post.

Please share your thoughts below, as well as what books you’re saving, or have saved, for your kids.

2 thoughts on “Exploring My Bookshelves: Thinking of the Future

Leave a Reply

