Weekend Reads #9: I’m not a fan of dystopian novels

Ah ha! I FINALLY post a Weekend Reads entry on the day that it is due. That’s the positive. The negative is that I intended to write a review and found it hard to concentrate so I did a meme instead.

Weekend Reads is a Goodreads group created by Nici, a booktuber over at LitPixie. Basically book lovers can record a video or write a blog post about what they plan to read on the weekend, and also answer a fun question.

The question for this weekend:

Pros and cons of living in your favorite dystopian novel.

Dystopian novels are okay. I’ll read them, but I’m not a fan. Too depressing. And I can’t help wondering if all the character’s efforts are hopeless. But there are a few dystopian stories that I appreciate like Divergent, 1984 (I thought it was boring when I read it in high school but I it was okay), The Hunger Games, Animal Farm (I loved this one), The Giver.

So since I do not have a favorite dystopian novel (and I would never want to live in any of those worlds), I’ll go with my favorite fantasy novel, which is the Harry Potters series! (No surprise there.) I’ll list 5 pros and 5 cons for living in the Harry Potter world.

Pros:

1. I can do magic.

2. I go to Hogwarts.

3. Butterbeer.

4. I can have an awesome job as an artizard, which is a wizard who’s an artist. (J.K. Rowling would of thought of a much cleverer name. Anyways, the pictures I paint can move and induce hallucinations on the viewer so that the viewer thinks that the painting has come to life. It lasts 30 seconds though.)

5. Flying motorcycle.

Cons:

1. Deatheaters. (I’m a half-blood.)

2. Dementors. (I’m an artizard. They would hound me and make me perpetually depressed.)

3. Muggles. (They love my paintings but they tend to get addicted to them. Sometimes they stare at them for days, refusing to move. As such, I’m banned from most places in the muggle world.)

4. Blast-Ended Skrewts.

5. No Dumbledore. 😦

What I’m reading this weekend?

I can’t make up my mind. I’m almost done with You. I read it along with The Phantom Tollbooth, which was a bad, bad idea. Both of them messes with my mind and reading them back to back really frigs with my thoughts. But I’m almost done with both.

I want to move on to Snow Like Ashes but I want to read Fangirl and Me and Earl and the Dying Girl more than it so I can’t decide, which makes no sense because I possess neither Fangirl or Me and Earl and the Dying Girl so this choice should be easy. But it’s not. I like to give myself a hard time and Amulet and Anya’s Ghost make it more difficult because they keep waving at me from my bookshelf. What to do?

Well, if you have any suggestions on what I should read next, please drop a line below.

And also share what you plan to read this weekend.

Happy reading. 🙂

20 thoughts on “Weekend Reads #9: I’m not a fan of dystopian novels

  1. I think you should buy fangirl – me and earl
    and the dying girl, after work on Friday, then you’ll have five books to choose from 😀
    Unless you see others while you’re shopping then maybe you should buy them too!
    I think those other two books were waving cause of loneliness.
    I’m going to read more of jack Londons the sea wolf, Sunday probably, i started it on Friday and is really good 🙂
    It’s like how you described call of the wild in a lot of ways.
    Don’t be drinking to much of that butterbeer if your going to be flying about on that motorcycle 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ugh, dystopians have become the bane of my reading existence. I think the only series I’ve truly loved was The Hunger Games and the first book in the Divergent series. I find a lot of the time they’re poorly written. I would suggest reading Snow Like Ashes, but Fangirl sounds good too. It would make more sense to read the book you actually own 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Very true, which is why I’m playing around with ordering Fangirl from Book Depository (especially since it’s free shipping worldwide). But I’ve bought too many books in June so I think I might get it in July so I don’t feel so bad.
      Yea, same here about the dystopians. The ones I think that are done well are the few classics I’ve read.
      And thanks for recommending Snow Like Ashes. I’ve wanted to read it for a long time now so it makes sense that I should just plunge in.

      Like

  3. I like dystopian novels, but I can see how they’re depressing for sure. I wasn’t a big of the way Divergent ended, but I enjoyed the storyline anyway. Your HP list is on point, though. You make me want to expand my reading horizons, by the way. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

