Top 5 Wednesday #5: Too Impatient to Pre-Order

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme created by GingerReadsLainey. For more information on this meme, visit the Goodreads group. This week’s topic:

Anticipated pre-orders for the rest of the year

Confession: I don’t do pre-orders. I did it once and felt like everyone received their book before me so I vowed never to do it again.

But that doesn’t make sense, you say. I agree with you. It doesn’t. I don’t know what happened to that order, which was for one of Rick Riordan’s books. I pre-ordered it and on the day the books were released, all other books were in the store except my copy. Apparently, I couldn’t just take one of the other copies in the store. I had to wait for the one I ordered, I was told. Never again.

But, if I was one to pre-order books, I’d do so for one of these:

I can only think of four.

Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear by Elizabeth Gilbert (slated for Sept. 22)

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness (slated for Oct. 6)

The Wheel of Time Companion (slated for Nov. 3)

The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan (slated for Oct. 6)

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday #5: Too Impatient to Pre-Order

  1. Pingback: Weekend Reads #12: Pre-Orders….again | Zezee with Books

  2. I think I would have pushed that matter and told them if they wanted my sale, they would give me one of the other ones. I don’t pre-order much either. I think I have done one this year which was the new Karen Marie Moning book. Great list and thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. I don’t usually actually preorder either!I don’t mind spending a few extra dollars in a brick and mortar store since I can be sure to get in there right on release day.

    Looks like some good choices, I had no idea there was a Wheel of Time Companion coming out, but then I’ve only read The Eye of the World and don’t really have a need for it yet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

