Weekend Reads #14: Stuck in a nightmare

Weekend Reads is a Goodreads group created by Nici, a booktuber over at LitPixie. Basically book lovers can record a video or write a blog post about what they plan to read on the weekend, and also answer a fun question.

Since Nici hasn’t posted any August topics, I’ve decided to go off track with a topic of my own.

The question for this weekend:

What would you do if you were stuck in a nightmare?

As you can see, it’s not book related. For some reason, I’ve been thinking about nightmares lately and what to do if I were stuck in one. Hopefully, this won’t make me have a nightmare later. Usually when I’m in a nightmare, I forget that I’m dreaming, that I exist elsewhere. I’m only concerned with the present and where I believe I exist, so how do I tell myself to wake up? My nightmares never last long so they aren’t a bother. What works for me is that I’d get so scared that I’d cry for a family member and when that family member doesn’t show up (they usually don’t), I wake up. Simple. Then I laugh off the fright and feel all better. I assume this trick would still work if I’m stuck in a nightmare and need to wake up. Otherwise, I guess I’d just scream and run like everyone in the movies, or get frustrated and try to fight the fright. What would you do?

What I read this weekend:

Yup, these three this weekend. I read The World of Ice & Fire off and on while reading A Clash of Kings. I’ve found that the best time to read The World of Ice & Fire is while reading one of the books from the series because you can easily understand the references made in the series and you’re not entirely lost when reading of the many people (with the same names) listed in The World of Ice & Fire. I also read a story from The Heroin Chronicles and also one from The Cocaine Chronicles earlier last week. I didn’t like either.

Well, what did you read this weekend? Please share below.

Happy reading! 😀

One thought on “Weekend Reads #14: Stuck in a nightmare

Leave a Reply

