Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag: 2015

I came across this book tag on Emily’s blog, Embuhlee liest. It looked fun so I decided to do it too since we’re at the middle of the year, kind of. This tag was created by ReadLikeWildFire (a booktuber) and Ely Jayne (a blogger). Let’s get to it.

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2015.

You by Caroline Kepnes. I enjoyed this crazy story. It’s a thriller about a guy stalking a girl and is told in the second person. Awesome. Read it. And In Search of Lost Dragons by Élian Black’mor and Carine-M. I love this book. It’s a graphic novel that documents the existence of dragons and its beautiful. You can check out my review to see a few pages.

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2015.

Shadow Scale Not counting the Harry Potter or Song of Ice & Fire books that I’m rereading, I’ll go with Shadow Scale by Rachel Hartman. It’s not as great as Seraphina but it’s good. Shadow Scale picks up shortly after the events in Seraphina and follows Seraphina as she searches for other half-dragons and try to prevent a war.

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to.

Red Queen Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. I like the cover so much that I want to own and read it. I don’t really care for the story since it seems overhyped because of all the mixed reviews that sprouted up after the excess hype died down. So since I only want it for the cover, I’m holding out since I obviously don’t need it. (Goodreads)

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.

The Rest of Us Just Live Here That is The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness. I like the premise of this book, which is about a character who isn’t the hero in the story, and I’ve yet to read a Patrick Ness book so I want this to be my first. I can’t wait to get it but it won’t be released in the U.S. until October. 😦 (Goodreads)

5. Biggest disappointment.

Talon Talon by Julie Kagawa. I thought it would be good because I loved the cover (yea, yea, don’t judge a book by its cover. I know. I can’t help it) and saw some positive reviews but I didn’t like it. I disliked it so much that I stopped reading at about 100 pages from the end. It’s about a girl and her brother, who’re both dragons, and how they try to blend in with humans while training to protect themselves and their organization from threats.

6. Biggest surprise.

I prefer this cover to the one with people on it. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. I did not expect to enjoy this as much as I did. I’m not a fan of YA contemporary and sometimes the romance in YA novels annoy me so I got this as an e-book. I was pleasantly surprised to find that I enjoyed it and even want to read the other books in the series. I’m considering collecting them all in paperback. This first book is about a girl, Anna, who goes to a boarding school in France for her senior year of high school and develops a crush on an English, American, French boy.

7. Favorite new author. (Debut or new to you.)

Unteachable I’m going with Leah Raeder because I love her writing style in Unteachable, which is one of my favorites of the year. I would of included it above but I decided to just go with the top two. This time it’s a taboo that attracted me, not the cover. Unteachable is about a girl who falls in love with her high-school teacher. It’s a new adult novel and it’s a bit explicit in some spots but the writing style is detailed and sometimes poetic and I love it.

8. Newest fictional crush.

Umm…I don’t have one.

9. Newest favorite character.

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl Hmm…they aren’t favorites but I like them more than others that I’ve read about so far. I’ll go with Earl from Jesse Andrews’ Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, which is about a boy whose mother forces him to hang out with a girl because she has cancer, and Joe from Caroline Kepnes’ You. Neither are great people….well, Earl is good. He just curses too much but I like that about him. He tells it as it is. Now Joe isn’t a good person. He needs psychological help but I like his character because he’s so snarky. Joe made the story funny.

10. Book that made you cry.

None.

11. Book that made you happy.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone In Search of Lost Dragons and Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. The former because it’s a beautiful book and I’m glad I bought it because the art and composition are better than I imagined it would be. The latter because I received a box set of the updated covers illustrated by Kazu Kibuishi and I love touching them.

12. Favorite book to film adaptation you saw this year.

Bridget Jones Diary Movie Poster Again, none. The only book to film I watched this year was Bridget Jones’s Diary and I haven’t read the book to know if it’s great.

13. Favorite review you’ve written this year.

Between You & Me Great question ;). Hmm…it’s a toss up between my review for Between You & Me by Mary Norris and my review for Shadow Scale by Rachel Hartman. I liked both books and enjoyed reviewing both. I believe I did a great job. Between You & Me is a memoir by a copyeditor at the New Yorker. If you’re interested in copyediting or proof reading or improving your writing or just want to read a good memoir and learn about the New Yorker’s quirkiness in the process, then I suggest you give Between You & Me a try.

14. Most beautiful book you’ve bought so far this year (or received).

In Search of Lost Dragons I didn’t realize this question was in here. Of course, my answer is In Search of Lost Dragons. It’s the most beautiful book I’ve acquired this year. Great page quality and art. Just beautiful.

15. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

Well, I have a bunch that I’d like to get to but chief among them:

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Splintered by A.G. Howard

Luckiest Girl Alive by Jessica Knoll (though I’m starting to not care for it)

The High King by Lloyd Alexander

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

And I’m going to tag:

Blogs of a Bookaholic

Xingsings

Book Snacks

Ronnie Reads & Reviews

Paein and Ms4Tune

Lindsey’s Hideaway

Hidden Staircase

The Literary Counsellor

Sara Letourneau

Socially Awkward Bookworm

And everyone who reads this post! 😀

14 thoughts on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag: 2015

  1. Pingback: Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag: 2016 | Zezee with Books

  2. Pingback: Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag! | Book Snacks

Leave a Reply

