Exploring My Bookshelves: A Reference Book I Like

“Exploring My Bookshelves” is a weekly meme created by Victoria at Addlepates and Book Nerds. Since Victoria is on vacation, I’m following along with Shannon at For the Love of Words since she has created her own topics.

This week’s topic:

A reference book

The Ultimate Encyclopedia of Mythology by Arthur Cotterell and Rachel Storm

The Ultimate Encyclopedia of Mythology

my cell camera sucks 😦

Of all the reference books I have (and I have quite a lot though I’ve unhauled many since leaving college), this is my favorite. I enjoy reading myths, folktales, and the like so I was glad when I found this book at a Borders clearance sale. Or was it on a Barnes & Noble sales cart? Hmm…can’t remember. Either way it was cheap though it’s a thick book. It includes entries on deities and other elements central to myths from the following cultures: Greek/Roman, Celtic, Nordic, Egyptian and West Asian, South and Central Asian, and East Asian.

I started reading it either a year or two ago and am only about half way through since I only read it when I’m between books, meaning when I finish a book and can’t decide on what to read next. It’s beautiful within and includes pictures or art, sculptures, and architecture influenced by myths. The entries aren’t in-depth, but they give a good overview of the subject. The font size is small but I’ve seen a larger version of this book with bigger font size.  If you’re interested in mythology, I suggest you give this one a try.

The Ultimate Encyclopedia of Mythology2

From the “Myths of East Asia” chapter

How this meme works:
  1. Take a “shelfie” (a picture of your bookshelf). Preferably literal, but e-shelves work too.
  2. Write something on the day’s prompt.
  3. Give the blurb and the cover of the book (and what you thought of it if you’ve read it).
  4. Link back to Victoria’s post.
My bookshelf:
my bookcase

my bookcase

7 thoughts on “Exploring My Bookshelves: A Reference Book I Like

      • Yeah it’s definitely in your book, wang means king and long means dragon ;-), there are four of them, two in the sea (east, south) and two in lakes (north, west)
        They are shapeshifters so you might have met one without knowing!
        I think you’d only know if you pissed them off, and they ate you 😮
        Their palaces are made of crystal, so there’s no sneaking up on them.
        their last name is Ao, which i think means playful, which i think means they eat you slowly 😛

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

