Top Ten Tuesday #10: No Vibes With These Characters

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic:

Ten Characters You Just Didn’t Click With

These are in no particular order.

The Eye of the World

Nynaeve from Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series

I’ve read five books in the series so far and in every one she annoyed me. I do not like reading from her perspective. She believes she’s always right and refuses to accept when she’s wrong and most times her anger is pointless. Of all the characters (including Mat), I think she’s the most immature.

Fangirl

Cath from Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl

She’s very controlling in the beginning and I couldn’t stand that.

The Curse of Crow Hollow

Buckey’s wife in Billy Coffey’s The Curse of Crow Hollow

I think she’s tied with Nynaeve as my most disliked character. She is a huge gossiper and I think much of the conflicts could have been avoided if she’d kept her mouth shut.

The House of Hades

Percy Jackson in Rick Riordan’s The House of Hades

I prefer Percy in his own series. I’m not a fan of him in the Heroes of Olympus series, especially in this installment because he tells all of Nico’s business to his friends. Sure it’s a way to get all the characters up to date on what transpired in Percy’s series but he seemed like a huge gossiper to me. He wasn’t a great friend to Nico.

I've always liked this cover best.

Catelyn in George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice & Fire series

I’ve tried to sympathize with Catelyn but I can’t help blaming her for most of what happens to the Stark family. She’s the one who urged Ned to go South and she seized Tyrion thus kicking off a series of fateful events. Maybe those events would have occurred regardless of Catelyn’s actions but I blame her. Also Bran and Rickon needs her more than Rob. She should go back North but I understand that she won’t so she can tell us what’s going on in that section of Westeros. And also…

Viserys from Game of Thrones

He’s vile and abusive and childish. I hate how he treats Daenerys and I kept hoping that one day she would give him a good kick in the crotch.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Harry Potter in books 5-7 of J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series

Harry’s anger, though justified, annoyed me, and he ignores the good advice he receives.

The Throne of Fire

Sadie from Rick Riordan’s Kane Chronicles series

She’s an annoying little sister but Carter loves her. She’s an annoying character and I can’t like her.

The Hunger Games

Peeta from Suzanne Collins’ Hunger Games series

Something always happens to Peeta. I wasn’t a fan.

City of Bones book

Clary from Cassandra Clare’s City of Bones

One of the most annoying characters I’ve encountered. She has no character development in this installment of the series.

16 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #10: No Vibes With These Characters

Leave a Reply

