Book Haul #10: Last of Summer

Umm…I guess I was supposed to be on a book-buying ban. I totally, conveniently forgot about it, of course, but now I’m really on one…unless coupons come my way. I don’t know how long I’ll last but I’m going to enforce this for the next two months at least.

Note: Purchasing Patrick Ness The Rest of Us Just Live Here is an exception.

And here are the last purchases for this summer.

Book Outlet

book haul 13

Mo’ Meta Blues: The World According to Questlove by Ahmir “Queslove” Thompson and Ben Greenman

I bought this one for my brother but I might read it too when he’s done. It’s Questlove’s memoir. Questlove is a musician. He’s a co-founder of the Roots, a hip-hop/neo-soul group, and bandleader on Jimmy Fallon’s late night TV show. I love the Roots and part of the reason why I watch Jimmy Fallon’s show sometimes is to see the band. Those guys are crazy talented.

The Gods of Olympus: A History by Barbara Graziosi

I enjoy reading about Greek mythology and since I was reading Jason and the Argonauts when I saw this book on Book Outlet, I was inspired to get it. Plus the $6.99 price for this hardcover beauty that was published last year was hard to resist.

Sister Mine by Nalo Hopkinson

As someone from the Caribbean who LOVES to read fantasy novels, I’m ashamed to say I’ve yet to try one of Hopkinson’s books. Tut, tut! There are a bunch of her books on Book Outlet now so if I enjoy this one, I’ll get another.

When Mockingbirds Sing by Billy Coffey

I enjoyed his recently published novel, The Curse of Crow Hollow, so much that I had to get another of his books.

Book Depository

The Written

The Written (Emaneska, 1) by Ben Galley

I saw a review of this on booktube and was so intrigued that I decided to get it.

book haul 14

The Madness of Cambyses by Herodotus

-and-

The Tell-Tale Heart by Edgar Allan Poe

I’ve wanted these Penguin Classics ever since seeing them advertised in a newsletter. They are only available in the U.K. so I had to get them from Book Depository. I love the simple design.

I got Herodotus’ book to try something by him. Same goes for Poe.

book haul 15

Goblin Market by Christina Rossetti

-and-

Caligula by Suetonius

These two are the reasons why I even bothered purchasing this edition of Penguin Classics. I loved Goblin Market the first time I read it and have always wanted to read Suetonius’ account of Caligula. I also plan to get his The Twelve Caesars.

book haul 12

Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov

I’ve often heard of Lolita and considered getting it but after reading Ronnie’s Liebster Award post, I was compelled to, especially when I saw this copy, which I think has the best cover of all the Lolita books.

Purchased any new books lately? Let me know below.
Also, I welcome your thoughts on the books above if you’ve read them or would like to.
4 thoughts on “Book Haul #10: Last of Summer

  1. Herodotus’s version of gyges and candaules is kinda of a favourite of mine. I’ll have to check out the madness of cambyses.

    Nice selection!
    You should definitely ban yourself from buying books, unless you get coupons, feel like it, or any good reason.
    And As if there’s any bad reason!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Steve. Haha, you always tell me there’s nothing wrong in indulging in my love of book buying and I totally agree. But I’m gonna save to get another bookself. I pity the one I have. I think it’s exhausted.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

