Top Ten Tuesday #11: Will or Won’t

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic:

Ten Finished Series I Have YET to Finish

The following list includes a mixture of series I will or won’t complete. The book featured is the installment I have to read next if I choose to continue with the series.

The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins

Mockingjay

I intended to read this soon after completing Catching Fire but have yet to get to it. I’m just no longer enthused to read it. I think it’s because I spoiled myself by looking up the synopsis and because I’ve started to lose interest in YA dystopian novels.

I will/won’t complete.
Divergent series by Veronica Roth

Allegiant

Insurgent was such a horrible read that I don’t care to complete the series. And also, I’ve lost interest in YA dystopian.

I will/won’t complete.
Fifty Shades series by E.L. James

Fifty Shades Darker

I read Fifty Shades of Grey out of curiousity and couldn’t bother to complete it a few pages from the end. As such, I refuse to continue with the series though I am curious about Christian’s background.

I will/won’t complete.
Eon series by Alison Goodman

Eona

I picked up Eon on a whim and though the story has its faults, I enjoyed it, especially the last few chapters. I’m curious to see what becomes of Eon.

I will/won’t complete.
The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan

Lord of Chaos

I have a love/hate relationship with this series and keep debating whether or not I should continue with it. I’m curious to see how it ends (since it ends eventually) and what becomes of the characters, especially Mat and Perrin. But some of the characters are really annoying (Nynaeve) and I don’t like how Jordan draws his characters (all the men think the same and react the same to women and vice versa). Also, he overwrites. A lot could have been cut from the books I’ve already read.

I will/won’t complete.
Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris

Living Dead in Dallas

I neither loved nor hated the first book, Dead Until Dark. It was okay and funny in some spots. I read it out of curiousity but I wasn’t interested in continuing with the series. If I pick up the second book, it’s because I found it cheap in a sidewalk sale.

I will/won’t complete.
Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas

Crown of Midnight

I read the first book, Throne of Glass, out of curiousity to see what all the hype was about but I wasn’t impressed by it. The protagonist has the bad-ass personality that I usually like but it was hard to always believe she’s a deadly assassin.

I will/won’t complete.
The Giver Quartet by Lois Lowry

Gathering Blue

I was not aware that The Giver was part of a series until I reread the book back in 2012. Since then, I’ve planned to continue with the series but have yet to do so. I’m not sure if I really want to or not.

I will/won’t complete.
Septimus Heap series by Angie Sage

Darke

I enjoyed this middle-grade series. Don’t know why I didn’t complete it. Maybe I got tired of the story after a while.

I will/won’t complete.
Fablehaven series by Brandon Mull

Rise of the Evening Star

It’s the cover of the first book, Fablehaven, that made me want to read it. The story is simple and entertaining, but I wasn’t enthused to continue with it. I’m not sure about this one.

I will/won’t complete.
29 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #11: Will or Won’t

  1. But…. Mockingjay! I can live with the other choices (I mean, leave Allegiant, and dear god, please do not finish Fifty Shades!) But…. Mockingjay! I do plan on finishing The Giver at some point. And I wasn’t in love with Throne of Glass, BUT I loved Crown of Midnight so much! Oh, and as for Sookie, the books were REALLY fun and addictive, but then around book 9 or so, they went a bit downhill. Good luck with all of these that you do plan on reading 🙂

    Like

    • Hahaha. Lol. Yea, Mockingjay. I almost read it though but then I forgot and spoiled myself. Thanks for the luck. I’ll need it to get through all I want to read in this lifetime.

      Like

  2. I almost put Septimus Heap on my list too, but I think I started high school somewhere in the middle of reading it and then just never bothered to finish it.
    While I love Throne of Glass, I can see what you’re saying about the protagonist. Either the first or second book, I found that there was some scene that just seemed too much ‘fluff’ or something. Great list!

    Like

  3. I kind of agree about the Divergent series as well… I have not interest in reading the third book but I still somewhat want to just because it feels weird to stop reading a trilogy after reading the first two books.

    Like

  4. I know a lot of people didn’t like Throne of Glass, but a lot of my friends tried Crown of Midnight and ended up loving it. I’m a big fan of the series, but I totally understand where you’re coming from.

    My list

    Like

  5. I know what you mean about YA Dystopian. It was my favorite genre for a while, but I got so tired of it. It can be tough when you get spoiled (I was for Allegiant) and there are various things about Mockingjay and Allegiant that i’d really rather forget.
    Throne of Glass is my favorite series. It’s a shame that you didn’t like it. I was expecting to be blown away by the first book, but due to my high expectations, I just wasn’t. The second book, Crown of Midnight really made me fall in love with the series, though.
    Olivia @ Fluttering Pages

    Like

    • Yea, I really expected to be hooked on Throne of Glass. I’ve heard that it gets better but for now, I’m not curious enough to continue with it.
      The dystopians disappoint me because I like to know things will somehow work out in the end and it’s hard for me to imagine that in those books. Some of them have such a big plot that I don’t see how it will wrap up well.

      Like

  6. I have noticed many people saying that Celeana didn’t seem all that much like a deadly Assassin in Throne of Glass. I think what really helped me was that I read the Prequels before starting the series, and this was before Assassin’s blade came out, I found them for like 1.99 a piece in the Sony eReader store. (which no longer exists) Reading her back story before starting the series gave me a glimpse into what she was like at her peak, before the salt mines.

    Check out My TTT: Marie @ Pages to Explore

    Like

    • Hmm. I think that would of helped because in Throne of Glass she seemed more like a girl playing at being an assassin. If I change my mind about continuing with it, then I’ll start with those prequels.

      Like

Leave a Reply

