Pastry Book Tag

Thanksgiving is tomorrow so I thought it fitting to do this Pastry Book Tag now. I was tagged by Trisha Ann at the Bookgasm Blog back in October. Thanks Trisha! 🙂

croissant

Croissant: Name a popular book or series that everyone (including you) loves.

Harry Potter is a given but I’ll also mention the Song of Ice and Fire series and the Saga comic books as well. They are both great series and deserve the many praises they receive from readers.

macarons

Macarons: Name a book that was hard to get through but worth it in the end.

The Jungle

The Jungle by Upton Sinclair. An interesting story that depicts the lives of factory workers and shows what occurred in Chicago factories in the early 20th century. The story is dense, which made it a little difficult to get through. After reading, I stopped eating sausages for a while.

vol-au-vent

Vol-au-vent: Name a book that you thought will be amazing but fell flat.

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. I thought it would be awesome but it wasn’t and I couldn’t understand why readers were excited about it. Same goes for Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo.

pain-au-chocolat

Pain-au-chocolat: Name a book that you thought would be one thing but turned out to be something else.

Harry Potter

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, the illustrated edition. When I heard that the story would be reprinted with illustrations, I thought that it would be a graphic novel but it’s not. It’s just the same story but with a few pictures added. There are a lot of pages with just words. As such, I have no intention of purchasing it; though, leading up to its publication date, I was excited for it and craved a copy.

profiteroles

Profiterole: Name a book or series that doesn’t get enough attention.

Snow Like Ashes

Since young-adult books are so popular, I’ll name a book from that section that pertains to this — Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch. I think this book is much better than Throne of Glass.

croquembouche

Croquembouche: Name a book or series that’s completely complex.

Walden by Henry David Thoreau and Sula by Toni Morrison. I read the former for a lit. class in high school and the later in middle school (not for class…I probably read it when I was in high school, now that I think of it). Back then, I didn’t understand what the author was trying say. I just didn’t get it. I’d like to return to them now to see if I’ll understand it, or at least enjoy the writing.

napoleon

Napoleon: Name a movie or TV show based off a book that you liked better than the book itself.

Divergent

Divergent. It works better as a movie.

empanada

Empanada: Name a book that was bittersweet.

The House of Hades

The House of Hades by Rick Riordan. As always, I enjoyed reading about the crazy adventures the heroes found themselves in but OMG!! Percy and Annabeth are so obsessed with each other. Their love story is sappy to me. Just overkill.

kolompeh

Kolompeh: Name a book or series that takes place somewhere other than your own country.

Cereus Blooms at Night

I’ll go with Cereus Blooms at Night by Shani Mootoo. I enjoyed this book when I read it for a Caribbean lit. class. It’s set on a fictional Caribbean island that makes me think of Trinidad.

pate-a-choux

Pate-a-choux: Name a food from a book or series that you would like to try.

fudge

Fudge. Since I was little I often saw this treat mentioned in books from the UK (I think it was in books from the UK). What is this fudge? I’d like to try some. Here’s a picture of fudge that I found on google. Is it correct?

That’s it. I won’t tag anyone.
I hope you all have a wonderful Thanksgiving if you’re celebrating it and if not, have a great Thursday! 🙂
4 thoughts on “Pastry Book Tag

  1. I initially thought the new Harry Potter book would be more of a graphic novel as well. But I think I would buy it if I had the money… It’ll be a wonderful present for niece/nephews or to read to my children one day in the future.

    Like

Leave a Reply

