Book Haul #14: Classics, Comics, Fantastic

Here I am doing a bookhaul post because I’m a great procrastinator and am avoiding the pile of book reviews I should write. I’ll get to them….eventually.

Book Depository

John Crow's Devil

John Crow’s Devil by Marlon James

I had to get this copy of the book when I saw it in a Youtube video. I didn’t like the covers of the older editions, which is why it took forever for me to get this. Now I own all of Marlon James’s novels. 🙂 (I just need to read them all too.)

Fantom Comics

Lady Mechanika

Lady Mechanika, Vol. 1 by Joe Benitez

I’ve wanted this comic ever since seeing it featured in a Youtube video. I don’t even recall what the story is about. I just love the illustrations. That’s why I got it.

Barnes & Noble

Brain on Fire: My Month of Madness by Susannah Cahalan

If on a Winter’s Night a Traveler by Italo Calvino

I picked up Brain on Fire and started reading immediately. After a few pages in, I decided to get it because I was hooked. I’ve always wanted to get a copy of Calvino’s novel so since I had a coupon, I did.

New Philosopher: Famous for $15

The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman

Lord of Chaos by Robert Jordan

I really shouldn’t have purchased another magazine since I haven’t yet read all the ones I’ve bought this year. I keep reading select articles online instead of my magazines. I attempted The Golden Compass years ago but didn’t like the use of the word daemon in it so I thought I would give it another shot. And I’m doggedly continuing with the Wheel of Time series, for now.

Gulliver’s Travels by Jonathan Swift

Candide by Voltaire

Two books I’ve always wanted to read though I’ve forgotten why.

Sandman, Vol. 1: Preludes & Nocturnes by Neil Gaiman, illus. by Sam Keith and Mike Dringenberg

The Lies of Locke Lamora by Scott Lynch

The Collected Short Stories of Louis L’Amour, Vol. 1

Two are mine; one is not. Since deciding to read more comics, I’ve often heard of Sandman so I decided to give it a try and I’d like to read more high fantasy novels so I got Lynch’s book.

Fingers crossed for fewer book hauls in 2016.
3 thoughts on “Book Haul #14: Classics, Comics, Fantastic

Leave a Reply

