Authorathon: the Wrap-up

AuthorathonFor the past week, April 18-24, I participated in the Authorathon, a new readathon created by booktuber Joana Sousa, and cohosted with Sam, another booktuber, at Thoughts on Tomes. The purpose of this readathon was to focus on an author, or authors, whose books you want read, and I succeeded in that part. I reread a book by an author whose work I initially wasn’t enthused about and started a book by an author who I wasn’t sure I would like.

So reading-wise, this readathon went well despite my week being crazy busy. However, I forgot that there are activities during readathons and so I forgot to check in on Twitter to participate in reading sprints and such. I just totally forgot about that part. Also, I didn’t do updates throughout. I didn’t have the time for it. The challenges for the Authorathon were as follows:

  1. Read a book by a favorite author.
  2. Read a new-to-you author.
  3. Give an author a second chance.
  4. Read a debut author (2015 or 2016).
  5. Read a book written by more than one author.
  6. Read a book from an author who is from a different continent than you are.

And my goal was to read these:

Eon (Goal: start and complete)

Eona (Goal: start)

Jane Eyre = challenge 3 (Goal: start)

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince = challenge 1 (Goal: continue and complete)

Rasputin, Vol. 1: The Road to the Winter Palace = challenge 2 (Goal: start and complete)

Fullmetal Alchemist, Vol. 7-9 = challenge 6 (Goal: start and complete)

I’m glad to say that I accomplished all except 2 of these goals. Here are the results: (Those crossed out are the successes.)

Eon

Eona

Jane Eyre

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

Rasputin, Vol. 1: The Road to the Winter Palace

Fullmetal Alchemist, Vol. 7-9

I read and completed Eon. Before starting, I thought the story would be boring because I was rereading it, but it was just as exciting as the first time I read it. However, I had the same problems that I had on my first read, which was that it takes too long for Eon to figure out herself and her problems. It made reading a little tedious later on and made me frustrated with Eon for talking/thinking too much. Too many thoughts, Eon! The difference during this reread, however, is that I now think that makes sense that Eon takes that long to figure things out since she has no guidance.

I didn’t get to Eona. I need Eon to marinate in my mind. I’m replaying scenes and stuff and still enjoying how the story made me feel.

My goal was to start Jane Eyre and I did. I didn’t get far though, only a few pages in, but I’m enjoying it. I like Jane Eyre. Though an underdog, she stands up for herself. Her guardian is so horrid!

The plan was to complete Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince because I’d already started it by the time Authorathon rolled around; but I lost interest in it and spent more time with Eon. I read some of it though. I really don’t like Harry in this installment.

I completed Rasputin, Vol. 1 in a day, basically. It’s a comic so it was a quick read. I like the story and the twist the author puts on Rasputin’s story, but I’m not crazy about the art style.

Fullmetal Alchemist, Vol. 7-9 I started and completed yesterday. I loved it. It was fun.

And that’s it for this wrap-up. I’ll call this a

SUCCESS!

2 thoughts on “Authorathon: the Wrap-up

  1. Congrats on reading so much on the readathon! The whole author theme and challenges seem super exciting, and I love readathons so I’d love to join when the next one comes! 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

