What’s On Your Nightstand: April 2016

What's On Your NightstandI saw this meme over on Dancing Books and decided to do it too since I do quarterly reading wrap-ups instead of monthly ones. What’s on Your Nightstand is a monthly meme hosted by 5 Minutes for Books that summarizes what you’ve read for the month, what you’re currently reading, and what you plan to read next. It’s basically a wrap-up, though not as detailed depending on how you structure your reading wrap-ups. The meme is held the fourth Tuesday of every month. (I assume that means the last Tuesday of a month that has 5 Tuesdays.)

For my posts, I won’t say exactly what’s on my nightstand because my make-shift nightstand is crowded with books I need to write reflections for on here. I’ll follow the prompt but will only include what I read this month and what I plan to read, which is tentative because I hardly ever read what I say I will. I’ll also include articles I read or plan on reading, as well as podcasts I’ve listened to. Let’s get to it.

What I read:

Books, comics, mangas

Soledad by Angie Cruz

Lady Mechanika, Vol. 1: The Mystery of the Mechanical Corpse by Joe Benítez

The Last Days of Magic by Mark Tompkins

Caligula by Suetonius

Eon by Alison Goodman

Rasputin, Vol. 1: The Road to the Winter Palace by Alex Grecian, illus. by Riley Rossmo

Fullmetal Alchemist, Vol. 7-9 by Hiromu Arakawa

Articles

Documenting Los Angeles’s Near-Invisible Workers (theatlantic.com)

Social Media and the Lack of Consent (thephilosophicalsalon.com)

Renting hell in New York City: how my hoader landlady ruined my life (theguardian.com)

The Saturday Rumpus Interview: Vivian Lee (therumpus.net)

My Job Search (thepointmag.com)

Podcasts

Maria Popova on Being Interesting, Creating More Time in a Day, And How to Start A Successful Blog (fourhourworkweek.com)

The Habits of a Master — Paulo Coelho, Author of The Alchemist (fourhourworkweek.com)

What I plan to read:

 

Library haul 1

I went to the library and borrowed these, so I’d like to read them before the due date.

The Arrival by Shaun Tan

Jane, the Fox, & Me by Fanny Britt, illus. by Isabelle Arsenault

Lizard Radio by Pat Schmatz

Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie

I’d also like to read these articles. The first one I read either last year or the year before that but I’d like to reread it.

For the Public Good: The Shameful History of Forced Sterilization in the U.S. (longreads.com)

Harvard’s Eugenics Era (harvardmagazine.com)

And that’s it.

This reminds me of my quarterly wrap-ups. I guess I structured this too closely to them. I’ll play around with the structure for next month. I don’t want to discuss the same things in the same way all the time.

9 thoughts on “What’s On Your Nightstand: April 2016

  1. Pingback: April Wrap Up, March Currently Reading | Embuhleeliest

  2. Such great articles! The racial history and even very recent history of eugenics is horrible!
    Yay for The Arrival and Christie mysteries are my comfort reads. How is Soledad?

    Like

  3. Hi Zezee! If you’re interested in the theme (or critique) of eugenics in literature I’d suggest checking out The Machine Stops by E.M. Forster.

    Like

    • It was interesting but unfortunately, I didn’t like it as much as I wanted to and didn’t finish it. I liked the story parts but couldn’t make it past the parts with too many facts.

      Like

  4. This is a cool type of post! Nice and concise. I like how you included articles and podcasts as well – I should start keeping track of that (and what reading I do for classes too, I suppose). I hope you’re liking FMA so far? 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

