Exploring My Bookshelves: Catching Up

Exploring My Bookshelves is a weekly meme created by Victoria at Addlepates and Book Nerds and co-hosted with Shannon at For the Love of Words. Visit either blog for the list of topics.

Don’t mind me. I’m just entertaining myself here. I haven’t done one of these posts in a long time, but they are fun and I am in need of fun today, so I’ll include in this post all the ones I missed, which is a lot (yeahie! Something fun to do), and do this weekend’s topic as well. I’ll start with the most recent and work backwards.

This week’s topic:

A book with your least favorite trope

Throne of Glass again.jpg

I choose Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas for this trope because I don’t like the love triangle in it and it seems that the story is built around the love triangle. I just do not like it. Love triangles annoy me because it never works out well and usually it starts because a character is majorly indecisive.

Last week’s topic:

Your favorite read from June

Assassin's Apprentice again.jpg

I have two and they are Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb, which is the first book of hers I’ve read, and salt. by Nayyirah Waheed, a poetry collection. I hardly read poetry but I loved these.

June 24 topic:

A book about summer

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants

The only book I could think of is The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares. I read it earlier this year and it was such fun. It’s about summer and is perfect for reading in the summer. I don’t own the book, though. I rented it from the library.

June 17 topic:

Favorite bookish father

The Woman Who Rides Like a Man 1.jpg

I’m assuming this means a father who loves books as much as I do 😀 so for this I’ll go with Myles of Olau from The Woman Who Rides Like a Man by Tamora Pierce. I would explain more, but I don’t want to spoil the series for those who haven’t yet read it. It’s one of my favorite YA fantasy series and Alanna, the protagonist, is one of my favorite female characters.

June 10 topic:

Ugliest cover

Moon Signs

That will be Moon Signs by Donna Cunningham. I downloaded an e-copy for free on Barnes & Noble. I think I read it once. Didn’t get much out of it.

June 3 topic:

A book about war or set during a war

World War One British Poets

For this, I chose the World War One British Poets poetry collection. I’ve only read a few of the poems. It was assigned reading for a college class but back then I had no appreciation or patience for poetry.

May 27 topic:

A book with a fantastic party

The Great Gatsby again.jpgI had to select The Great Gatsby, of course. It’s well known for its awesome parties, after all.

May 20 topic:

A book that shocked you

Song of Kali 1

I recently read Dan Simmons’s Song of Kali and wow! Those last chapters were shocking. The pacing allows the story to keep you in its grip.

May 13 topic:

The book with your favorite quote

Beyond Good and Evil

My favorite quote:

“He who fights with monsters should be careful lest he thereby become a monster. And if thou gaze long into an abyss, the abyss will also gaze into thee.”

I know that this quote is from Friedrich Nietzsche but I’ve never read, neither do I own, Beyond Good and Evil so I can’t verify if the quote is really from this book; but a lot of internet sources say it is. I’d like to read this book, though, and I wouldn’t mind owning it either. The cover is pretty.

May 6 topic:

A book with a green cover

Quidditch Through the Ages

Quidditch Through the Ages, one of the supplemental books to the Harry Potter series. Quidditch is the only sport I love though like all sports, I hardly understand it. But that’s okay. I’ve accepted the fact that it’s in my nature to not understand any sport.

April 29 topic:

Newest book from 2016

The Creative Habit

The newest book I have is The Creative Habit: Learn It and Use It for Life by Twyla Tharp. This book came highly recommended from a variety of sources I found while searching for books on creativity. I’ve read a few pages and liked it so far.

April 22 topic:

A hardback missing its dust jacket

Salt - Earl Lovelace

I don’t own many hardcover books so I think this is the only one I have that had a dust jacket but is missing it. This is Salt by Earl Lovelace, which I should have read by now in my life but haven’t. 😦

April 15 topic:

A book with a flower on the cover

Forty Rooms 1

I chose Olga Grushin’s Forty Rooms for this because the cover and spine are beautiful. The book was published in February of this year and I bought it after reading a few of its pages. I look forward to really reading it soon.

April 8 topic:

A story that takes place in the spring

Snow Like Ashes

I actually don’t have an answer for this one. I couldn’t think of anything, but I chose Sara Raasch’s Snow Like Ashes because it has a kingdom in its fantasy world called Spring and it’s always spring in that kingdom.

April 1 topic:

A parody or funny book

Pride and Prejudice and Zombies

Hmm…this seems to be the only book I have listed as a parody in my database: Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame Smith. I’m sure I have a few more. I certainly have some satires somewhere, I think.

March 25 topic:

A family you wish you could join

The Raven Boys

I wouldn’t mind crashing at Blue’s house for a while. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

March 18 topic:

Your book girlfriend

A Love Noire

I don’t have one but if I had to choose, I’d go with Noire from A Love Noire by Erica Simone Turnipseed. I think we’d get along well.

March 11 topic:

Your book boyfriend

I choose Sawyer Silver from the Rat Queens comic book series written by Kurtis J. Wiebe. I like the illustrations of this character in the issues illustrated by Roc Upchurch. Sawyer is a good-looking guy.

March 4 topic:

You best fictional friend

Soledad

Soledad by Angie Cruz. I think I could be great friends with Soledad. We have a lot in common, we just might get along.

February 26 topic:

A book you don’t want to read for risk of damaging it

bookhaul 15-1

That would be S. by J.J. Abrams and Doug Dorst. Some people also call it Ship of Theseus. I want to read it, but I don’t want to rip that sticker that binds it. I don’t want to open it.

Yeahie! I’m all caught up now. If you’d like to give answers to these topics below, go ahead. Or if you’d just like to leave a random comment, do that too. If you’d rather write a sonnet or short story or song, I won’t stop you from doing that either. Write away.
19 thoughts on “Exploring My Bookshelves: Catching Up

  1. Snow, snow, said i ” how can I, when the winds blows so! @1071 m, the fires burned, but low, the rocky outcrops enticed, i said, twice, but thrice your coast, or mine, yours, mine, youres, mine, yours…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was thinking, that, the dent, cud b maybe, easd a little, and a razor cud slice, and a patch_ cud disguise the entry of S, but who knows, i know nothing, and even if someone said hay what, and I said hey what, would the haye detereate??? Wud I hate then love, hope so, but as I said, don’t know, and speaking of someone, sometwo, somethree, somethree -somethree, how succulent the roots, that the wind, smiled, and licked, then eased to alesser beast, more bountiful than i cud demand of a peg, thanks

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lol. Well the storytelling is great so I recommend it for that. Eh…yea…it is quite shocking so…that’s why I recommend its storytelling 🙂

      Like

  3. I love all the pictures you took. Mine come out awful when I attempt photography. I’ve heard so many mixed reviews on the Throne of Glass series. Some people absolutely adore it and others rant over it. I have a feeling I would rant over it if I were to finally open the first book. I bought it over a year ago and haven’t touched it. I’ve heard a lot about the love triangle and it sounds like a waste. That’s a trope I’m not a fan of unless it’s really working, but it hardly ever works well. I haven’t seen this meme before. Good idea for a post.

    Like

    • Thanks! Yea, the reviews are very mixed for ToG. It didn’t work for me because the characters didn’t convince me that they know their professions well (assassin and head soldier guy).
      Yea, it’s a fun meme that has one topic each weekend.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Yea, it was like that was the whole point of the story, which is why I didn’t feel inclined to read beyond book 3.

      **Sorry for the late reply. Your comment got stuck in my spam for some reason.**

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

