Pokémon Book Tag | via Read at Midnight

I know what you’re thinking but I warned you from the first Pokémon book tag I did that I plan to go overboard on this and do three of them so don’t look at me as if I’m a wacked out Pokémon fan.

This Pokémon book tag is the most popular one I’ve found. It was created by Aentee at Read at Midnight, who’s also hosting a Pokémon-themed readalong, which I plan to join. Yes, we are all certainly going Pokémon crazy. 😀

pokemon-tag-01starters

This question pops up a lot in book tags so to avoid giving the same answers constantly, I’ll instead choose a novel that sparked my interest in biographies, autobiographies, and memoirs. And that’s

Makes Me Wanna Holler

Makes Me Wanna Holler: A Young Black Man in America by Nathan McCall. I believe it’s the first autobiography I read and was deeply interested in. I read it in high school and I recall being deeply moved by it though some parts were uncomfortable to read. I’d love to reread it to refresh my memory.

pokemon-tag02pikachu

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone2

I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of the Harry Potter books. And I think it’s time we call the Harry Potter books classics because they had a great impact on how children’s books are presented, marketed, and even published. They even influenced how children’s books are considered for bestseller lists. If I recall correctly, before the Harry Potter books were published, children and young-adult bestseller books weren’t placed on separate lists from adult ones.

pokemon-tag-03-zubat

Truthwitch

Truthwitch by Susan Dennard. The hype made me get it and I’ve yet to read it. It’s one of the books listed on my TBR for Aentee’s Pokémon Indigo League Readathon.

pokemon-tag-04-ditto

Cinder

Cinder by Marissa Meyer is rife with tropes seen in many young-adult fantasy novels but I don’t care. I love the book anyway and I think the world building is fantastic.

pokemon-tag-05-snorlax

A Dance with Dragons

A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin, but this isn’t exactly true. I read about half of it a couple years ago when it was published but stopped because I have a hardcover copy that’s too fucking heavy to be lugging around and I was unmotivated to continue because the following book in the series wasn’t out yet (still isn’t, future me, still isn’t and it’s the middle of 2016). So, intimidated? Not really, but I have no intentions of carrying the hardback around with me.

pokemon-tag06-gengar

The Curse of Crow Hollow

The Curse of Crow Hollow by Billy Coffey. It kept me up all night last year when I read it because it was hard to put down. I wanted to know what would happen and the mystery about who’s behind all the weird occurrences in town kept me reading.

pokemon-tag07-nidokingqueen

You know, I’ll have to say Cinder and Iko and Cinder and Thorne. Thorne and Iko’s personalities are similar to me and they play well with Cinder’s.

pokemon-tag08-rapidash

Snow Like Ashes

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch. I don’t hear many people talking about this series. It’s a fast-paced, young-adult fantasy book that has an interesting world where some countries are stuck in one season.

pokemon-tag09-eevee

US cover

Seraphina by Rachel Hartman. It’s a young-adult fantasy series in which dragons can take on human form. There aren’t any spinoffs, actually, but I wish the series would continue.

pokemon-tag14-magikarp

The Martian

The Martian by Andy Weir is my go-to answer for these questions because the book’s genre — sci-fi — and subject — deep space science — are way outside my comfort zone.

pokemon-tag12-legendary

The Final Empire, Mistborn

The Mistborn series by Brandon Sanderson. This series is over hyped on booktube and in the blogosphere and that has made me curious about it. The illustrations on the U.K. covers made me covet the books so I bought a set of the UK editions last year.

pokemon-tag15mew-mewtwo

I’d love to own a Folio Society edition of almost any book.

pokemon-tag10-egg

The Star-Touched Queen

The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi, which was published earlier this year. I bought it and still haven’t yet read it. I need more reading time.

pokemon-tag11-lure-module

I don’t think I have auto-buy authors anymore. It used to be Rick Riordan but I don’t own The Trials of Apollo and it used to be J.K. Rowling but I don’t own any of the illustrated Harry Potter books, though I plan to get the illustrated copy of the fourth book when it comes out.

pokemon-tag13-server-down

Velvet, Vol. 3

Velvet, Vol. 3: The Man Who Stole the World by Ed Brubaker, illus. by Steve Epting. I CAN’T WAIT!!! 😀

And that’s it for the Pokémon book tags. This one has been making the rounds on here so I won’t tag anyone but if you’d like to do it, go right ahead and let me know so I can see your answers. 🙂
8 thoughts on “Pokémon Book Tag | via Read at Midnight

Leave a Reply

