Comics roundup #9: outcast <- genetics

Since I’d yet to read any of the comics I received on Free Comic Book Day back in May, I decided to try a few of them in an attempt to clear my comic TBR. Two of the comics I received for free/discounted was the first issue of Boy-1 and Oddly Normal. I knew nothing about them when I picked them up, which is different for me because so far the majority of comics and graphic novels I’ve read were either recommended to me by a person or through a blog or video, or were based on a topic or person I was familiar with. However, this plunge into something new wasn’t bad.


Boy-1 1

Boy-1, #1 by H.S. Tak, illus. by Amancay Nahuelpan, with colors by Sebastian Cheng

Genre:

Sci-fi, mature (I’ll use the classifications listed on the comics M for mature, T for teen, and E for everyone. I prefer that.)

Goodreads overview:

In the fast-approaching future, when the drug-addled heir of a genetic-engineering company begins to investigate his company’s murky past, he discovers he is the catalyst in a terrifying global event that will transform him and forever alter the course of human evolution.

My thoughts:

Boy-1 is a science fiction comic set in the future. Jadas is heir to his father’s genetic-research company and has developed a genome that improves the physical and mental states of chimps. His company wants him to test the genome on humans but he’s not sure if he should.

While talking to the company’s A.I. system, Victor, the machine mentions Jadas’s father which piques his interest in his father’s disappearance. Jadas starts investigating his father’s disappearance but the clues might have led him to something more dangerous. Or at least so it seems, the issue ended on a bit of a cliff-hanger.

It’s quite short, this issue, and it basically just lays the foundation of the story and introduce us to Jadas, who, apart from working as a scientist at the company, seems to spend his days having sex and snorting drugs. He also has flashbacks of moments with his father which, though nonthreatening, seem to either frighten him or make him anxious. He seems very shaken when he wakes from those dreams.

So far, the story merely interests me. I’m not hooked and I’m not sure if I’ll continue with it since I’m not a major science-fiction fan. I do, however, like the dialogue as well as the mystery concerning Jadas’s father and the company’s intentions. I also like the timeline at the end of the issue that details the progress of genetic research. It adds some credibility to the story though it’s set in the future.

The art is okay. I’m not crazy about the illustrations but I love how the colors were applied, especially for skin tones.

Overall: ★★★☆☆

I like the art and the story is okay but one issue isn’t enough for me to know for sure whether or not it’s good.


Oddly Normal 1

Oddly Normal, #1 by Otis Frampton

Genre:

Fantasy, everyone

Quick overview:

Oddly Normal is about a girl called Oddly who doesn’t fit in. She has green hair and pointy ears and her mother is a witch. The kids at school call her a freak. This preview opens with her birthday. Oddly’s parents are planning a party but they don’t realize, or they ignore, that Oddly doesn’t have any friends to invite.

She is angry and lonely and feels misunderstood. In this issue, her frustration mounts until her anger pushes her to make a wish she didn’t intend.

My thoughts:

I received this issue for free on Free Comic Book Day. I believe it’s the first issue, it says Chapter 1 in the upper right corner of the cover, but so far I think the story is great. I’m hooked. There’s so much going on in this comic.

Oddly narrates the comic but though she tells us a lot about her situation at school and how her parents are, she shares much more in her expression and body language, which is one of the many things I love about the comic. It’s from how she acts that we understand how sad she is and lonely. It makes us sympathize with her.

The colors help to highlight these clues because it seems that the colors used for certain frames mirrors how Oddly feels, thus a lot of blue is used throughout. Speaking of the colors, I love the artwork, though it’s very cartoony, and I love the illustrations of Oddly’s house and birthday cake.

Overall: ★★★☆☆ 1/2

Great story. The protagonist immediately pulls you in and the illustrations are very appealing. I wanted to get the volume soon after I was done with this issue but none of the comic book shops I visited had copies. 😦

10 thoughts on “Comics roundup #9: outcast <- genetics

  1. Yay! Today i got to read those two saga books (2&3) and boy 1,
    First boy 1, loved it, ❤ the art, the story, ❤ it.
    Your free copy must be chapter 1, so the book has 4 chapters and finishes on a cliff hanger too (don't they all :|) but alot becomes clearer from what you describe above 🙂
    I'll have to let you know what happens in the series if you don't continue with it.
    Next saga, i hardly have to say how awesome is this!!
    i might have to give up something useless like food or something to buy the rest of these g/n's
    Start working nights maybe 👻

    Like

  2. Pingback: 2016 Reading Wrap-Up: Third Quarter | Zezee with Books

  3. I hope you’ve found a copy of oddly normal book one, it’s so good!
    i need to order volumes 2-5 asap
    Saga too,
    i read volume one 2day ❤ ❤ ❤ this,
    and i got volumes 2 & 3 doing the read me shuffle on my shuffley shelves 😀

    more lord jim b4 those but .

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

