Currently Reading Tag

Technology is not my friend at the moment. My laptop is sick and my cellphone is smashed. It’s sad to say, but I’m barely making it through life at the moment. I’ve come to rely a lot on my technological devices and have developed a connection to them that might be an unhealthy addiction. I don’t think I can last long without being tuned in to something. At times I can ignore their absence by grabbing a book, but whenever I get a nag to check Facebook for some pointless thing, I again start to miss the presence of my devices.

So since I am limited at posting on here for the moment, I’ll do some tag posts, which are usually quick and easy to do, and I’ll try to throw in a review or two, if I can, before my laptop is fixed.

This time I’m doing the Currently Reading Tag, which I found on YouTube. It was created by Charly Reynhorse.

How many books do you usually read at once?

I usually read up to 3 or 4 books at once but these days, because of how busy I am and how much my attention span has shortened, I mostly read about 2 books at once.

By the way, I’m currently reading these two:

I really should be reading more of the library books I have but Martin has me hooked and Barbery’s book has a slow pace, not that I want to hurry it along because I love how Barbery writes. I might switch to something different tomorrow.

If you’re reading more than one book at a time, how do you decide when to switch to reading the other book? (Do you read a certain amount of pages in each?)

99.9% of the time when I read more than one book is because I can’t decide what to read next so I read everything I’m interested in. I switch books according to my mood, so I read what I feel like reading.

Do you ever switch bookmarks while you’re part way through a book?

Not often. If I do, it’s because I either lost my bookmark or I found a bookmark that fits the book better.

Where do you keep the book you’re currently reading?

Wherever I put it: bedside table, bags, dinning room table, my bookcase, etc.

What time of day do you spend the most time reading?

In the morning while commuting to work. I mostly read when I’m not at home.

How long do you typically read for in one go?

That depends on the book and my mood and my attention. It varies so much that I can’t tell. Sometimes I get through many pages because my mind feels like focusing on the book, but other times it takes me an hour or more to get past a page because I keep daydreaming.

Do you read hard covers with the dust jacket on or off?

I keep the dust jacket on unless the book is very, very heavy or the dust jacket is white – I’m thinking of A Dance With Dragons by George R.R. Martin.

Which position do you mainly use to read?

Whatever position I place myself in. Since I mostly read while commuting, I guess that’s while sitting upright.

Do you take the book you’re currently reading with you everywhere you go?

I sure do. Never leave home without it.

How often do you update your progress in the book you’re currently reading on Goodreads?

Whenever I remember to, which is quite often sometimes.

Who would you like to tag?

Everyone who sees this and would like to do it. Limited access to a computer means that I have less time at the moment to check other blogs, or even my favorite websites. I usually read on my phone but… 😥 …I don’t have a good phone to do that on.

11 thoughts on “Currently Reading Tag

  1. Pingback: Currently Reading Tag | The Quirky Book Nerd

  2. Pingback: Book Tag: Currently Reading – A Rambling Reviewer

  3. Hi Zezee,

    I wondered why I hadn’t seen you on our blog recently. I hope you get your laptop and phone fixed/replaced soon. It’s insane how much of our lives centre around our devices now.

    I like this tag. I will try and do it next month (at some point).
    I hope you enjoy the rest of Game of Thrones and I’m going to go and look up Barbery now because I’ve never heard of her before 🙂
    Happy Reading
    Rachel @ Paein-and-Ms4Tune

    Like

  4. Good tag, I will definitely have to do this one. I liked reading about your reading habits. Sorry about your devices – that really sucks to be disconnected. Hope you get them back soon!

    Like

  5. I’m always reading multiple books at once, whether it’s because I’m reading something for school or because something that I’ve been dying to read has just arrived, I don’t think I’ve read one book at any given time in a while.
    – Yasmin

    Like

Leave a Reply

