Seasons of Book Blogging Tag

I’m in the mood for a tag so I’ve decided to do the Seasons of Book Blogging Tag since the season is about to change from my favorite time of the year, summer, to my second favorite time of the year, autumn.

That second favorite spot tends to flip-flop between autumn and spring. I love spring because that means winter is finally over and the flowers and sun are about to return. But it also means itchy nose and runny eyes since the pollen affects my sinuses. Autumn I love for its robust colors and that I can start wearing blazers and boots again. Also, apple pies and pumpkin everything!

About the tag: I found it on Ashley’s blog, Socially Awkward Bookworm, last year. It was created by Jordyn of J. Bookish. The rules:

Thank the creator (so she can see all of your answers!) and the person who tagged you.

Begin with the month in which you have been tagged and move forward from there!

State the best gift you’ve ever been given after you answer the question for your birthday month.

Tag whomever you’d like when you’re finished.. or else you’ll be “it” forever.

Have fun, of course!

Since I wasn’t tagged, I’ll start with the month I’m in now.

September is time for students to go back to school! Pick a book you read for school that you actually enjoyed.

Maus I and II

Maus I: A Survivor’s Tale: My Father Bleeds History and Maus II: And Here My Troubles Began by Art Spiegelman.

These comics have acquired classics status. They are about Spiegelman’s father, who was a Jewish survivor of the Holocaust. I was hooked on the story when I read it in middle/high school. I also thought my teacher was weird for giving us comics to read.

October is time to celebrate Halloween! Pick one character that you would love to dress up as for Halloween.

Either Dee from Rat Queens, a fantasy comic about female mercenaries, or Mechanika from Lady Mechanika, a steampunk comic set in the late 1800’s about a female cyborg. Both are bad asses and sexy and I love their outfits.

November is the month when we’re reminded of how much we have to be thankful for. Choose one book you’re grateful for having read and give a shout-out to the person who recommended it!

A Game of Thrones

A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

I’ve always loved fantasy novels but A Game of Thrones made me crave more adult high, epic fantasy novels. I first heard of the books when A Feast for Crows was published. My supervisor at the part-time job I had at the time told me the series was great so I gave it a try (which, I think, was around this time — fall). I’m glad I did.

December is a time when friends and families come together and celebrate. Name one book you would give as a gift.

Fail, Fail Again, Fail Better

Fail, Fail Again, Fail Better by Pema Chodron

I think everyone can benefit from the message in this book about the value of failure.

January begins a new year. Name a resolution you made this year and if you’ve kept it or not!

Erm…I made many reading resolutions this year and the only one I’ve managed to keep was my Goodreads reading goal and that’s because many of things I read were graphic novels and comics.

February is the month for relationships. Name your favorite book relationship: romantic, platonic, or familial, your choice!

I shall name a few:

The strong friendship between the girls in The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants.

The bond between brothers Edward and Alfonse Elric in Fullmetal Alchemist.

The strong sense of community in The Life of Elves.

March is the month for luck and new beginnings. Name a book or series that you would like to re-experience as if you’d never read it.

Really? I didn’t know that about March though I’ve always known it’s an awesome month!

The Night Circus

It was a hard decision. My quick answer is all my favorite books but I’ve winnowed my answer to The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern, which I read earlier this year. I fell in love with the story, its characters, and setting. Though I’m sure I would enjoy a second reading of it, the spell has broken so I won’t be as amazed by the circus and characters as I was during my first read.

Best birthday present: A birthday card designed to look like a doll house. When I was a kid in JA, my mom sent it to me and I’ve treasured it ever since. I always wanted a doll house when I was little. I’m surprised the card is still intact.

April is a spectacularly ordinary month. Name a book that was so over-hyped that it just could not live up to your expectations.

Throne of Glass

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

Everyone said it’s great and the protagonist is a total badass but it all fell flat for me.

May is the month when the flowers start to bloom. Name a book that was a pleasant surprise to you.

Unteachable

Unteachable by Leah Raeder

I had to choose this. It’s a new-adult contemporary romance novel and I loved it when I read it last year. Now, right this minute, I crave to reread it. I’ve been thinking to do so since last weekend.

June is the time to take a break. Name a book or genre that you like to read when you just need to check out.

The Hero's Guide to Saving Your Kingdom

Fantasy, preferably YA (old school YA. Not today’s YA that’s obsessively focused on romance and love triangles) and middle-grade fantasy. For a novel, let’s go with The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom by Christopher Healy. It’s a fun fantasy, adventure story about the princes charming who rescue the fairy tale princesses.

July is the time to celebrate your independence! Name a book that made you see fireworks. (Figuratively. Please don’t light books on fire.)

The Sound of All Things

I’m gonna cheat a little with this and go with The Sound of All Things by Myron Uhlberg, illus. by Ted Papoulas. It’s an illustrated children’s book about a boy trying to describe the sound of things to his deaf father. Both his parents are deaf.

August is the hottest month of the year. Pick an up-and-coming author that you think will be the next hottest thing.

Monstress, Vol. 1

Well, I don’t know if the description applies here but I’d say Marjorie Liu. Her comic book Monstress has a lot of potential and I love it so I hope more people will give it a try.

I won’t tag anyone because a lot of people have done this. But if you haven’t and would like to, go right ahead and link back here so I’ll know.
10 thoughts on “Seasons of Book Blogging Tag

  1. Pingback: Season of Book Blogging Book Tag – Ann's Reading Corner

  2. I had never even heard of this tag until I cam over here! It looks like so much fun to do, so I think I might do it soon. My dad was the one that recommended me to read the Game of Thrones series about two years ago. I’m so happy that I actually found that book series!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

