Fall Activities Book Tag

I saw this tag on the Sassy Book Geek and the Orang-utan Librarian‘s blogs and decided to do it because…it’s fall, I like tags, and it’s 1:43 a.m. and I’m in the mood to torture myself by staying up when I’m sleepy.

The tag was created by Ashley at Dreaming Through Literature.

By the way, I’ve never done any of these activities. My Fall activities include stepping on every crunchable leaf I see and obsessively thinking, “I hope this is as cold as it’ll get for winter,” in a falsely optimistic voice.

Apple Picking: A book on your TBR that looks so delicious you can’t wait to take a bite out of it.

The Emperor of the Eight Islands

Emperor of the Eight Islands by Lian Hearn, a fantasy novel set in medieval Japan. The covers of the books in this series, which were all released this year, are beautiful. I can’t wait to read them, though I keep procrastinating on doing so.

Corn Maze: A book that’s so much fun to get lost in.

The Lost Hero

I chose The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan, the first book in his Heroes of Olympus young-adult fantasy series, because it has Leo; but any of Riordan’s books are fun to get lost in. The adventures are crazy and the infusion of Greek/Roman mythology makes the stories fun.

Haunted Houses: A book that scared you silly.

Salem's Lot

For now, Stephen King’s ‘Salem’s Lot is my go-to answer for these questions because I hardly read horror novels. This one was creepy.

Pumpkin Patch: The latest book you picked up (purchased).

the-girl-with-all-the-gifts

Girl With All the Gifts by M.R. Carey because I plan to read it soon. I don’t know what it’s about, despite all the reviews I’ve read. I’ve already forgotten. But I recall it’s about a girl that no one wants to get too close to…something like that.

Scenic Drives: A book that is lyrically beautiful.

The Life of Elves

Ashley mentioned The Great Gatsby in her answer and I agree that would be a good pick for this answer and also Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston. I chose The Life of Elves by Muriel Barbery because I read it recently and it’s the writing rather than the plot or characters that kept me reading. It’s about two magically gifted girls who must work together to stave off the evil/chaos that threatens their community and those they love.

Pumpkin Carving: A book you didn’t like and wouldn’t mind carving up.

air-awakens

A book I recently read and disliked was Air Awakens by Elise Kova, a young-adult fantasy novel. I didn’t like how it’s written and I didn’t like the characters.

Hiking: A book that was a highly enjoyable romp.

Rat Queens1

Rat Queens of course! I’ve mentioned this fantasy comic book often on here. It’s about a band of female mercenaries and it’s so much fun.

Drinking Apple Cider: A sweet book to curl up under the covers with.

A Love Noire

A Love Noire by Erica Simone Turnipseed. It’s one my favorite romance novels.

Jumping in a Leaf Pile: A book that reminds you of your childhood.

Akata Witch

Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor, a young-adult fantasy book about an albino girl in Nigeria who learns she has magical abilities. I could relate to the protagonist, Sunny, who found it hard to identify who she is, both Nigerian and American, and the funky train reminded me of all the buses and taxis I took when I lived in Jamaica.

Scary Movie Night: Your favorite spooky read.

The Curse of Crow Hollow

The Curse of Crow Hollow by Billy Coffey is not exactly scary, but it is creepy. Set in deep Virginia, it’s about a small town where odd things begin to happen after some teenagers bothered a witch. I like how the story explores what is real and what is imagined: Is the lady really a witch or just an eccentric old woman?

Bonus! Costume Party: A book with an eclectic cast of characters.

The Eye of the World

My go-to answer is George R.R. Martin’s Song of Ice & Fire series, but I chose instead Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series, which has a wide range of characters from all over its fantasy world, though not as diverse in personality as Martin’s characters.

I won’t tag anyone but if you’re in the Fall spirit and would like to do it, go right ahead.
11 thoughts on “Fall Activities Book Tag

  1. Ataka Witch and Rat Queens were just added to my to read list! I’m pleased you don’t remember much about The Girl With All the Gifts—it’s a better read if you don’t know what is really about! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

