Bookish Mid-Autumn Festival Tag

I’m back with another tag. Yeahie. No surprises there, right? I think everyone now knows that I enjoy doing these posts, especially when I’m super busy without access to a personal computer because Lappy the Laptop 2.0 is sick again :|. I think I’ll need to give up on him soon (though he’s pretty new) and get myself a shiny new Apple laptop. Apple won’t pass out on me while we’re in the middle of something exciting, or have hiccups when I push it too hard. It has stamina.

mid-autumn-festival1

This looks exciting!

Anyways, I’m here with the Bookish Mid-Autumn Festival Tag, which I discovered on Drizzle & Hurricane Books. I can never tell when autumn ends and winter begins, but there are still leaves on the ground and it’s not very cold, so I believe it’s about mid-autumn now so perfect timing for this post!

mooncakes

I’d love to try a mooncake. They look yummy.

It was created by Tinka, the Crazy Reader. According to Tinka, the Mid-Autumn Festival is a traditional Chinese festival that originated from a tale about an alchemist. At the festival, people eat mooncakes, watch the full moon, and play lanterns, among other things. It sounds like a wonderful family event and I’m glad to learn about it through this tag (though it does sound familiar; I might have come across it elsewhere as well).

Well then, TO THE TAG! 😀

Reunion of family: Name a book with family goals.

Fullmetal Alchemist

Fullmetal Alchemist by Hiromu Arakawa was the first book to pop in my mind. It’s an action/adventure manga about brothers Edward and Alphonse Elric, who’re trying to regain their original bodies. The story places a strong emphasis on family bonds, even the bad guys have strong family values.

Full moon: Name a book with a werewolf. (This festival has nothing to do with werewolves. The only common thing is the full moon.)

The Devourers

I haven’t yet read Indra Das’s The Devourers so I don’t know what it’s about, but I do know that a werewolf is in it. I’d love to purchase and read Das’s book, but I want to get it in paperback and the publishers have yet to say when the paperback will be published.

Mooncakes: Name a kind of food in a book that you wish was real.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix3

Butterbeer and Firewhiskey. I know they’re not food but considering that Trump won the U.S. presidential election, I think I deserve a drink and a magic-based one would be best.

Rabbit: Name your favorite creature from a book.

Akata Witch

The artist wasp from Nnedi Okorafor’s fantasy young-adult novel Akata Witch, which is set in Nigeria. I’d love to have a pet that’s a melodramatic artist, lol!

Chang’e: A character that makes a significant change to the plot since he/she does something too much.

Btw, the tale about Chang’e is pretty interesting, check it out here.

girls-in-pants

I choose Carmen from the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series by Ann Brashares. It’s a contemporary, young-adult series about four girls who’re best friends. I chose Carmen because she’s vindictive and I think she’s often too mean toward her mom. So far, she has been awful to her mom in every book. Actually, none of the girls have great relationships with their mothers.

Lanterns: Name a toy or game in a book that you like to read about.

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

I had to include Harry Potter again. There are a number of toys and games in it that I enjoyed reading about, such as chess sets that come alive, Quidditch (it’s the only sport I partially understand), and all the crazy stuff Fred and George created for their joke shop.

Autumn: Name a book which you feel is the best to be read in autumn.

The Monstrumologist

I think Rick Yancey’s young-adult, horror Monstrumologist series is perfect for autumn. The atmosphere in the books (well, I’ve only read the first and second novels in the series thus far) often match autumn weather. The story is about Will Henry, who’s an assistant to Pellinore Warthrop, a scientist who studies monsters. The books are more gorey than scary, but they will make you cringe, which also makes it perfect for Halloween.

Festival: Name your favorite festival in a book.

Umm…I can’t recall having read a book with a festival in it, except

The Kite Runner cover

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini. The kite event was a festival, right? I enjoyed reading about it before things went sour for the characters.

So that’s it. I won’t tag anyone but if you feel like doing it, go right ahead.

Also, I might be slow in posting things and responding to comments and such since I don’t have Lappy the Laptop. I feel so lost without him.

9 thoughts on “Bookish Mid-Autumn Festival Tag

Leave a Reply

