Family of Books Tag

I enjoy doing book tags. Yes, it’s true. And it’s that time of year when there are many, many tags to fit the drastic change in season and the family-centered holidays that pop up around this time of year. This and the most recent tag I did would have been great leading up to Thanksgiving, but since I discovered them after that holiday, I’m posting them late.

This one is the Family of Books Tag, where we’re given bookish questions that match certain family members. It was created by booktuber Acacia Ives.

Parent: A book that hugs you when you need it.

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer Stone by J.K. Rowling. This answer is given so often for these sort of questions that it has now become a cliche. But the Harry Potter books, the first installment especially, are comfort reads for me. They’re like a favorite blanket or teddy bear and they give me as much solace as those or a great cup of tea.

Parent: A book that gave you morals and rules to live by.

The Bible. I was raised a Christian so this book was important in my development and is still important to me now, though I’m not very religious. I still like to read it sometimes, mostly the New Testament, for the philosophical discussions in it and also the Christian mythological stories, which I can’t help but believe are true. I still wonder if all the scary stuff in Revelations will come to pass and how it will occur. Will it be as scary as it’s described in the Bible, or will I not notice when it happens (which is even scarier)?

Younger sibling: A book that’s so cute its’ annoying!

Anna and the French Kiss

Umm… Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. It’s a young-adult contemporary novel about an American teenaged girl who enrolls at a school in Paris for her senior year of high school. It was a fun, sweet read. I guess it was cute. It sure had its annoying moments but I enjoyed reading it.

Older sibling: The book nothing else lives up to.

100 Years of Solitude

One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez is a classic and nothing has yet been written that can touch it…. or I haven’t yet read anything that’s better. It’s a magic realism novel with a twisty plot and characters who all have similar, and sometimes the same name. Many readers feel daunted when considering to read it, but I highly suggest everyone give it a try. I loved the story and descriptive prose and it’s now one of my favorite classics. I haven’t read many magic realism books, but those who have (some booktubers I follow) claim that One Hundred Years of Solitude is still the reigning champ in this genre.

Grandparent: The old fav with wisdom and a certain smell.

the-coldest-winter-ever

My books don’t smell, neither do my grandparents. An old favorite, though, would be The Coldest Winter Ever by Sister Souljah. I decided to switch it up a bit and choose something that’s not fantasy. Technically, this is an adult, urban novel but I’m sure all Black girls read it when in high school. I enjoyed this book so much, I always had my nose in it and would hide to read it because I wasn’t sure how my parents would react to me reading sex scenes (they didn’t care because they didn’t know). I need to give it a reread.

Aunt: The book you can read when you need to feel your emotions.

girls-in-pants

Umm… I don’t actively look for emotional reads. I try to stay far from those. However, a book I recently read that made me shed a little tear was Girls in Pants: The Third Summer of the Sisterhood by Ann Brashares. In it Lena uses art to heal the strained relationships in her family and her family members’s reactions often made me tear up.

Uncle: The book that makes you laugh.

The Lost Hero

I don’t read many funny books either so this question is hard. Harry Potter books usually make me laugh and, because of Leo, Rick Riordan’s Heroes of Olympus books can elicit a chuckle from me sometimes.

Your child: The book that changed your life forever.

Available on Amazon and in your local book stores.

Imagine: How Creativity Works by Jonah Lehrer. It didn’t alter my life, but it changed my reading life by showing me that some nonfiction books are easy for me to read. Sure Lehrer fabricated some parts and plagiarized others, but I enjoyed the book and it widened my reading horizons. Now I look forward to reading nonfiction books that are marketed to general readers.

Iย first saw this tag on another booktuber’s channel, Portal in the Pages, who posted this bonus question:

Extended family: The book that shows you that life can be different to what you know.

Thunder & Lightning

Thunder & Lightning: Weather Past, Present, Future by Lauren Redniss, an illustrated nonfiction book about the weather. Redniss discusses how weather affects people, places, animals, and other things. She also talks about how human actions affect weather and how people have and can capitalize on it and use it as a weapon. The book is very informative and have broaden my knowledge of weather and shown me how people elsewhere in the world live because of their weather conditions.

I invite these bloggers to do the tag:

Bookidote

Life of a Female Bibliophile

Whimsy Pages

Books, Vertigo and Tea

Cover to Cover

Books and Hot Tea

Orang-utan Librarian

Rose Read

Kirsty and the Cat Read

Dreaming Through Literature

Green Onion Blog

Also, just a reminder that my Q&A is still open. Head on over to submit a question or post it here, if you like. ๐Ÿ™‚

15 thoughts on “Family of Books Tag

  1. Pingback: Family of Books Tag – Books, Vertigo and Tea

  2. Thanks for the tag! Those are indeed some scary questions regarding the New Testament. Who knows. Only time will tell. Got me all hyped up for a One Hundred Years of Solitude. It’s been on my TBR for ages. I need to find myself a sexy copy to dive into its classical awesomeness ASAP!

    – Lashaan

    Like

  3. Pingback: Lighting tags! The Family of Books and Character Dating Profile Tags – Rose Read

  4. This is such a great tag! I thank you very much for tagging me because I will most certainly do this one… interesting answers by you., as well, plenty books there that I need to check out and most likely add to my TBR pile! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

