Winter Is Coming Book Tag

Really, winter is coming. I just got an alert on my phone saying that winter storm Decima is heading my way and I should expect snow and freezing rain. I live in such an awesome place, don’t I? 😐 Fingers crossed that it passes by and doesn’t affect me much.

Well since it is winter and a storm is on the way, I thought it best to do a book tag for the change in season. The Winter Is Coming book tag was created by booktuber Katherine Barka.

Snow: It is beautiful when it first falls, but then it starts to melt.
A book/book series that you loved at the beginning, but then, at the middle of it, you realized you don’t like it any longer.

I don’t like snow. I love looking at it from the warmth and comfort of my home and I love how it blankets everything and smothers the noise, but I hate shoveling it, touching it, walking in it, or having it fall on me. I think snow is deceiving. Anyway, for this question I choose

Witches of East End

Witches of East End by Melissa de la Cruz, a paranormal novel about the Beauchamp family of witches living in hiding in Long Island. Both the book and its TV adaptation let me down. I was interested in the story at first but as it progressed, I found it hard to believe in the characters and thought they made too many silly mistakes. The story is interesting though and reminded me of the TV show Charmed.

Slowflake: Something beautiful and always different.
Choose a book that stands out, that is different from all the other books you’ve read.

Snowflakes are beautiful, but I’ve never seen one in real life. Has anyone been lucky to actually see a snowflake before it melts away?

A Time Code

I decided to go with a recent read for this question — A Time Code by Ruth Ozeki, which is a short memoir about the author’s face. The memoir’s structure was a bit unusual to me since Ozeki records her thoughts about her face, and the time she had those thoughts, while observing herself in a mirror for three hours. It felt very intimate, as if I was reading her diary.

Snowman: It is always fun to make one with your family.
Choose a book that a whole family could read.

I’ve never made a snowman. There’s no way I would willingly touch snow for that damn long. It’s bad enough that I have to shovel it.

Wild Animals of the North and The 50 States are both illustrated nonfiction books that I think all ages can enjoy. I recently purchased Dieter Braun’s Wild Animals of the North and though I haven’t yet read it, I’ve heard it is great and I love the illustrations I’ve seen in it. I saw The 50 States, which is by Gabrielle Balkan and illustrated by Sol Linero, in a Barnes & Noble store and immediately wanted to get it. It’s an atlas of the Unites States that provides interesting facts about the 50 states. Though I’d love a copy for myself because it’s beautiful, I plan to purchase it for my niece.

Christmas
Choose a book that is full of happiness, that made you warm inside after reading it.

Ah Christmas. Who doesn’t love Christmas? It’s my favorite holiday.

me-before-you

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes made me feel warm and cuddly after reading it. I liked how it ended.

Santa Claus: He brings wonderful presents.
Choose a book that you’d like to get for Christmas.

Whenever I think of Santa Claus, I think of this Boondocks episode when Riley wrote Santa a letter:

Anyway, I’ve bought myself so many books this year that I don’t know what to ask for. I want to make some bookish changes to my life, the foremost being that when I buy a book, I must read it within six of less months since purchasing it, and I should get rid of books I hate to gain some shelf space. But, if someone insists on buying me books, I wouldn’t mind getting one of these:

The Romanovs: 1613-1918 by Simon Sebag Montefiore is a history book published earlier this year that I’ve wanted to read ever since hearing of it. I read a couple pages in the bookstore, but held off on purchasing it because it’s a thick hardback and kind of pricey.

I’d also like to get The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden because it sounds like the kind of story I would like. I think it’s young-adult fantasy. Plus, Arden wrote this article on Unbound Worlds website and mentioned two of my favorite YA fantasy authors that she also loves so obviously I’ll love Arden’s book too. Can’t wait! Arden’s novel will be published in January.

Snow bowling: It can be painful to be hit by a snowball.
Choose a book that hurt, that made you feel some strong emotion like sadness or anger.

I was hit by a snowball once. I was on my way to pick up my lil bro from school and daydreaming so when I saw the snowball heading my way I began admiring how round, white, and sparkling it was instead of moving out of the way. I knew it was heading for me but that knowledge didn’t register until I was hit. = dangers of daydreaming while walking in snow

ship-of-magic

I choose Ship of Magic by Robin Hobb because I don’t think I’ve ever read of another set of characters who’ve pissed me off as much as the ones in Ship of Magic did. They are so damn frustrating. Kyle, Malta, Ronica, Wintrow, Keffria, sometimes Althea… they all make me so angry!

Sledding: We all loved it when we were younger.
Choose a book that you loved when you were a child.

I’ve never been sledding and I don’t think I’d like it, though I would love to go snowboarding. That sounds fun despite the cold.

bookhaul 14-7 Archie

This question pops up so much in tags that I’m tired of answering it. I decided to choose something different, though. The photo above is of the newer editions of Archie that I bought, but back when I was a wee lass, I loved me some Archie. They were the first comics I read and, for a while, the only ones I had ever read.

Frostbite: Choose a book that you were really disappointed in.

Damn frostbite. I refuse to go anywhere that would make me get frostbite. That’s why I don’t go out much in winter, I hibernate like a bear. I’m like a winter hermit. (Exception: The Aurora borealis is on my bucket list soo… yeah.)

fault-in-our-stars-paperback

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. I don’t get why people love this book. It’s so boring and I got nothing out of it.

Reindeer: Something that is dear to us.
Choose a book that is of great sentimental value to you.

Reindeer. Well, I have nothing negative to say about them. Rudolph is pretty badass though because he has a red nose. I wonder how he got a red nose. Maybe he has really bad sinus problems.

All my books are dear to me that’s why I hardly lend them to people. But I really appreciate the ones I get from friends and family. They hardly ever give me books as gifts. I really treasure my set of Harry Potter books with covers illustrated by Kazu Kibuishi because my cousin surprised me with those at a time when I really, really wanted it and didn’t expect to get it.

Yea, this tag wasn’t going to end without me sneaking in Harry Potter. 🙂 Look at these beautiful covers!

And that’s it for this tag. Join in and do it if you want. I hope y’all are having a very warm winter and Christmas. I’m not. 😦 I’m sitting here with a cup of hot chocolate waiting for a damn storm. 😡

P.S.: I found the featured image here.

7 thoughts on “Winter Is Coming Book Tag

  1. Excellent picks. Living in Québec, I had ample opportunities to see snow inside and out. I’ve seen HUGE snowflakes land on me and get the opportunity to admire its complexity before getting back to business. That HP edition is definitely sexy. Is that the one where the spine match up together to showcase Hogwarts or something?

    – Lashaan

    Like

    • Quebec! I get chills just thinking about that city at this time of year.
      Yep! It’s this edition. Because they form Hogwarts and because there’s an illustration of the Burrow on one of the covers is why I wanted it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

