Reflecting on 2016: Blogging

Well, I was hoping to get some insight into my blogging progress in 2016 from the annual WordPress report, but it seems that WordPress will no longer publish them. (For more info, see this support forum.)

Then I tried doing my own infographic, but gosh! It took a while to decide on what to feature, get the stats, and then format the infographic so I didn’t bother. I can see why WordPress decided to no longer do it, but if they can find an easier way that isn’t as time consuming, that would be great.

I’ve decided to present the same sort of information usually included in the annual reports but without the graphics and fireworks (I miss the fireworks 😥 ) and comparison to the Sydney Opera House because I don’t know how to calculate that and I’m too lazy to try. (I’m too lazy to do a lot of things today, actually.)

Anyway, I keep improving each year. The more time I put into this blog, the more I’m rewarded with increased views and interactions.

I got a huge boost in visitors and views back in 2015, which reflected my efforts to post more and interact with other blogs. And since 2015, my stats have increased to

z2016-review

Yeahie! 😀

Also, my subscriber count increased with over 800 peeps subscribed through WordPress and about 8 by emails making total subscribers to my blog in the early 900s. 😀 This makes me very happy and looking over the stats like this makes me proud of my efforts.

I have no idea how many photos I posted in 2016, but I’m sure it was a lot. And my busiest day was August 14, 2016, when I posted

Olympic Book Tag

It helped that it was the middle of the summer Olympics.

As for posts that received the most views in 2016, they were:

Writing Myths #1: Why the sun rises and sets

Writing Myths #3: Why is the sky blue

Writing Myths #4: Why we are born and die

Favorite Harry Potter Book Covers

Book Haul #23: Chicago & BookCon

All except the last were published before 2016. As WordPress would say, I guess my writing “has staying power” or maybe I should just do more creative posts, stories and stuff.

How did y’all find me though?

Well the stats say peeps found my blog through these websites:

WordPress Reader

Twitter

Bloglovin

BrokeandBookish.com

I don’t know what all that means but awesome! Glad you found my blog. And it’s pretty awesome too that most peeps search for “Zezee” to find me. Though maybe they typed in Zezee to find someone else but, whatever. I’ll take it as a success.

Now where in the world did all the viewers come from?

Mostly the U.S., says the stats, but also New Zealand, U.K., Canada, and India:

z2016-review2

As for those who commented the most, I’d like to shout out:

The Orangu-tan Librarian, whose blog I also recommend. I love reading her posts which always make me laugh or think of something new or both. Lol!

Steee, who pops in every now and then with a kind, funny, thoughtful, or odd word. 😛

Mogsy, who blogs over at the Bibliosanctum and reviews lots of fantasy and sci-fi books. I got a couple recommendations from her last year that I hope to check out this year.

Danielle at Books, Vertigo and Tea, who always has something kind to say. She also manages a great blog and recently introduced a new feature I love where she pairs teas with books.

Vicky who manages Books and Strips, a beautiful blog where she reviews a variety of interesting books, most of which are new to me, like Lucky: A Memoir on Being Raped by Alice Sebold and In the Pond by Ha Jin .

Transhaan and Lashaan, who both manage Bookidote, a wonderful blog where I get great recommendations on books and comics.

And that’s it. That’s what’s usually included on the annual reports. If I could do fireworks, I would add them too. Since I can’t, use your imagination and imagine them there.

Toodles.

Z

23 thoughts on “Reflecting on 2016: Blogging

  1. Hey thanks for the shout! 😳 and
    Wow that’s one huge amount of visitors!!
    I certainly enjoy the way your posts provoke one of those responses out of me, Lol 😁

    It’s been great, been a part of your awesome blog in 2016,
    Here’s to the times to come 🐒

    Like

  2. I’m really glad that you enjoy blogging and do it ESPECIALLY for yourself! Always entertained by what you’ve got to say, especially with all the awesome honesty that comes with your writing! Hope 2017 shows even more progress in all those statz and I’m definitely looking forward to tag along in all your reading adventures! 😀

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glad to hear that and thanks for subscribing. The majority of blogs I follow I found through WordPress Reader as well. Othertimes I find them by reading the comments section on other people’s posts.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

