Weekend Reads #66: Feeling burned out

Weekend Reads is a weekly post in which I discuss a variety of topics and mention the books I plan to read on the weekend. However, this weekend’s post is more of an update. An update to say that I’ve been feeling a bit burned out recently. Is it possible that I blogged and read too damn much last year?

I guess this feeling is responsible for my patchy reading lately. I decided to kick off the year reading The Witches by Stacy Schiff and Tiny Beautiful Things by Cheryl Strayed, but was unable to commit to either while reading e-copies of them. I kept falling asleep. I switched to physical copies, which helped with Tiny Beautiful Things but didn’t with The Witches. I’ve since given up on Schiff’s book, for now.

Since I tend to read several books at once, I’ve been on the lookout for other books to get stuck in but so far, apart from Tiny Beautiful Things, none have grabbed my attention. I keep starting books and forgetting to continue with them or just DNF’ing them.

I’m also not much in a blogging mood. I read some posts on my phone, which I realize works best for me because reading blog posts on my laptop makes my eyes tired, but haven’t been very interested in posting anything. 😦 It’s a sucky mood to be in.

I hope I perk up in the coming weeks. If I do, expect to see some award posts, I really need to catch up on those and nominate some of the awesome bloggers I’ve discovered, a review of two picture books, and a Wishes for My TBR post. (Fingers crossed that I actually do all that.)


What I read this weekend:

Tiny Beautiful Things by Cheryl Strayed: As I said above, reading the e-book made me sleepy so I got a physical copy from the library and was immediately hooked when I picked up from where I stopped in the e-book (just a few pages in). I try not to make any marks in library books, but I do like to make note of quotes and passages and chapters that capture my attention as I read. So what I do is make small dots in the library books to highlight the quotes and passages and chapters that catch my attention. But since I was placing dots all over this book, I decided to buy my own copy. I really like this one and am almost done with it.

Gilded Cage by Vic James: Millie’s negative review of this made me so curious that I requested it from NetGalley when I saw it there. I’m only a few pages in and haven’t yet formed any opinions on it.

The Impossible Fortress by Jason Rekulak: Isn’t that cover awesome?! Well, it’s not the actual cover of the book. It’s the cover of the ARC copy I got. The publishers decided to use a different cover for the actual book. A cover I don’t like so I decided to use the ARC cover here instead. I just started this book and am immediately hooked. I forgot what it’s about, and I don’t want to look it up, so I’ll link to the Goodreads page in case anyone’s interested in checking it out. It will be published in early February.

And that’s it. Hopefully my weird, funky mood will pass soon and I’ll post some more. 🙂 Let me know what you’re reading below. 
20 thoughts on “Weekend Reads #66: Feeling burned out

    • Thanks. I hope so too, though it’s fun not knowing whether I will like it or hate it as Millie did. So far I’ve read 1 negative review and 1 positive review (I forgot whose) of it, so it’s hard to tell how it’ll turn out.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I feel ya. I hit a serious reading slump and blogging slump in December. I’m only now recovering. I think taking breaks is healthy; the mind needs to rest and renew in order to see the fun in reading and engaging with others 😉

    Like

  2. It’s January so the funky mood is agiven 😀 Winter with its dullness and burnout vibes… but… spring is on the way.. 🙂
    A lot of bloggers have been in the reading funk.. I also feel like I put a hell of a lot pf pressure on myself last year so this year I’ve slowed right down… my review requests are closed and I’m exploring the books I have hoarded for myself thanks to some brilliant recommendations.. I feel like I’m on holidays really… just reading and blogging when I feel like it… nice! 🙂

    I hope you’ll be able to get out of the reading funk soon! 🙂 Enjoy the break from all things, it will pass sooner or later 🙂

    Like

  3. I’ve felt that way in the last year or two, mostly when I’m feeling pressure from other things, or because I’ve committed to too much on the blog. It felt scary to me when I couldn’t seem to finish a book. My advice is give in to the feeling and take a break. Read what you want to, not what you think you should. Pretty soon you’ll be thinking about posts to write, new books to read, and itching to get back to the blog. That was my experience anyway. And I’ve seen a lot of really great bloggers take breaks when they need to.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. Thanks for the advice and for understanding. I think it is because other areas in my life are a bit tense at the moment. I’ll take your advice n just ride it out. Hopping from book to book and hardly sticking to them is annoying but I think it’s because of my mood changing according to what’s going on.

      Like

  4. Aw! I understand that burned out feeling. Not on blogging yet but I think it’s a universal sign of when things need to be shaken up a little. I hope you’re able to figure out what you need to enjoy it again. Are there any types of posts that stand out as more do-able then others? Ones that you really don’t look forward to?

    Like

    • Yea, it’s not the first that I’ve felt burnt out on here. In the past, I usually do a bunch of tag posts until I get back my groove or I just take a break. Right now I kind of feel burnt out overall in all my interests.

      Like

Leave a Reply

