Weekend Reads #67: Feeling better

It’s another update post just to say that a week’s break from blogging was helpful. I feel a bit better and I got my blogging groove back. Despite the country possibly going to shit due to Trump’s executive orders to rewind the little progress made in American society, I at least feel like blogging about books again. But seriously though, Trump banning people who have green cards from reentering the country and prioritizing certain refugees based on their religion and possibly starting a Muslim registry in the U.S. is fucking crazy. OMFG! WHY is this dude president??? 😡


Anyway, here’s what I’m reading this weekend:

Parasites by Rosemary Drisdelle: I started this one on Halloween last year but took a break from it. Now I’m hooked again. It’s a nonfiction book about parasites that we often come in contact with. It made me so squeamish as I read it last night that my stomach started to hurt, which made me think it was because there were worms moving about in there. It didn’t help that when I told my mom this in the morning, she looked at me and said matter-of-factly “We all have worms.” Whether or not this is true (and the book hints that it probably is), I’d rather not believe it because eww!!! 😕

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern: I read this last year and loved it and now I’m rereading it by audio book. So far, I’m not enjoying it much because I’m so busy that I can hardly focus on the story. Maybe audio books only work well for me when it’s Harry Potter. Anyway, Jim Dale is also the narrator of The Night Circus audio book and since I recently completed the fifth Harry Potter audio book, it’s almost as if I’m listening to another Harry Potter story.

Gilded Cage by Vic James: I’m reading an ARC of this that I requested from NetGalley and so far, I’m hooked and curious about this slavery thing and why one of the characters wants it banned because I don’t see the benefit (for him) for doing so.

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn: I’m not a fan of mystery because I’m too impatient to wait for the resolution, but I watched part of the Gone Girl movie and was so intrigued that I had to borrow the book from the library. For some reason, it made me think of The Yellow Wall-Paper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman. I’m already hooked.

The Impossible Fortress by Jason Rekulak: I was hooked on Parasites and Gilded Cage and a comic book I was reading during the week so I neglected this one. But I hope to read a chapter or two from it this weekend.

What are you reading?
18 thoughts on “Weekend Reads #67: Feeling better

  1. Trump is definitely some of fictional villain brought to life. It’s not even a joke anymore. He’s getting away with everything he’s set his mind to. Scary times. Scaaaaary times. Glad to hear you’re feeling better. You do have some great books in queue. Happy reading! 🙂

    – Lashaan

    Like

  2. The last week has definitely been rough…But I did get some reading done this weekend as well and that cheered me up a little. I read two poetry collections, Salt and Bone. Also Volume 2 of Ms. Marvel, which was wonderful and just what I needed to finish off the weekend.
    Hope you’re having a better week this week.
    Did you get through Gone Girl? It’s such an amazing story!

    Like

    • Ah! What did you think of Salt? I loved that collection but some folks weren’t fans of how simple the style is.
      I’m still working through Gone Girl. I got hooked on Gilded Cage for a while, which is weird because I had so many problems with that book.

      Like

  3. I completely agree with you on the political bit. Every day that ____ (you can fill that in with whatever word you like there) makes me angry… and then I turn to reading and writing, because I don’t want to spend every moment of my day feeling like a volcano about to erupt.

    Books. Reading. Yes. I remember you saying before that you enjoyed The Night Circus a lot (and I really liked it, too), so I’m glad you feel the same way about its audiobook. I’m planning to start Rae Carson’s The Girl of Fire and Thorns tonight. And over the weekend I finished Erin Summerill’s Ever The Hunted, which… eh. It wasn’t poorly written, but it wasn’t all that interesting. So I’m glad I rented it from the library.

    Like

    • It’s just one crazy thing after another with this administration.
      I guess Rae Carson’s book will be a good change from that uninteresting one. The Girl of Fire and Thorns has received lots of praise.

      Liked by 1 person

      • “I guess Rae Carson’s book will be a good change from that uninteresting one.”

        It already is. I love the characters, the worldbuilding (has a Spanish-Bastillian-Mediterranean influence), and… yeah, I’m really enjoying it so far. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I liked the Night Circus and Gone Girl. I’m in the middle of Swing Time by Zadie Smith which I’m liking a lot, and The Rehearsal by Eleanor Catton and I’ve been dipping into and out of Quicksilver by Neal Stephenson for months! Finding that one a bit ropey at times but I’m determined to finish it.

    Like

  5. I really wish I could of loved The Night Circus! I see why people love it so much and I loved certain aspects of it, but as a book it just wasn’t my cup of tea. However maybe the audio book will make me love it more. I think it would be a good one for listening to while drawing. Glad to see you loved it !!

    Like

    • I was surprised I enjoyed it. I prefer character-driven books but Night Circus was more plot-driven and hops around a lot too. I surprised it didn’t throw me off.

      Like

Leave a Reply

