Book Haul #32: First for 2017

Yeahie!! Here I am with the first official book haul for 2017!! Woohoo!!

I am so proud of myself that I haven’t bought much so far. Let’s hope I keep this up for the rest of the year.

Books I bought:

The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden

I got this as soon as it hit shelves in the store. I wasn’t playing around. My plan is to read it in February. I don’t have high hopes for it, but I do think it’s one I’ll love, or at least like.

Tiny Beautiful Things: Advice on Love and Life from Dear Sugar by Cheryl Strayed

I initially borrowed this from the library as an e-book, but didn’t like that format. I got the physical book from the library, but I marked so many pages for quotes and such that I decided to just get my own copy.

Sky High by Germano Zullo, illus. by Albertine

This is an illustrated children’s book and that’s all I know about it. This one caught my eye when I was in Kramerbooks. I thumbed through a couple pages and so liked the illustrations that I decided I must get it. So I did.

The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery

Okay, so I didn’t like The Life of Elves much, but I LOVED the writing in it so I’m willing to give Barbery another shot. I hope this one works out better.

The Describer’s Dictionary

I need to get back in my creative writing groove and expand my vocabulary and general cache of words and descriptions and such, basically stock my toolbox. This should help.

Books I got for free:

Saga, Vol. 6 by Brian K. Vaughan, illus. by Fiona Staples

Got this one from my lil bro. Yeahie!! πŸ˜€ I need to get caught up.

Rise of the Dragons by Morgan Rice

Now I’m regretting getting this, though it was free, after reading and DNFingΒ A Quest for Heroes. Maybe the writing in this will be better.

The Doll by J.C. Martin

This was featured in a roundup post featuring quick reviews of short stories on Books, Books, & Baubles. I was told it’s free so of course I got it! Plus, I liked the review of it. It seems like something I’d like. The e-book is probably still free on Amazon.

ARCs requested from NetGalley:

Gilded Cage by Vic James

This is a YA fantasy story set in the present day about people with magical powers enslaving those without it. I requested it because the mixed reviews I’ve seen made me curious. The book will be published on February 14 and my review will be up soon.

The Bedlam Stacks by Natasha Pulley

A historical fantasy novel that will be published in August. I’ve started it, but am not very far in to be able to say what it’s about.

Library books:

I was on a waiting list for all three of these books, but I didn’t expect them all to become available at once!

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

I watched part of the movie and liked it so now I’m reading the book. I like it so far.

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Β I actually own a copy but I lent it to my uncle and now I have to borrow it. I think I’ll get the physical book instead though. I didn’t know it has footnotes, which makes reading on an e-reader tricky.

You Are a Badass: How to Stop Doubting Your Greatness and Start Living an Awesome Life by Jen Sincero

I like the title so I borrowed it.

20 thoughts on “Book Haul #32: First for 2017

  1. OMG you got SAGA for freeeeee. Freaking awesome lil bro. I still need to get my hands on volume 5. This makes me want to reread the whole series. πŸ˜› Also pretty cool you’ve got (again) Ready Player One. I have to read that one soon (or maybe Armada first). Looking forward to see how you’ll love it! Oh, and Gone Girl (the movie) was absolutely BRILLIANT. I’m a sucker for David Fincher’s movies though. I’m waiting to forget a little more about the story before reading Flynn’s book. Hope you enjoy that one as well! πŸ™‚

    – Lashaan

    Like

    • Lol! I’ll need to reread the Saga series too. I think I got to volume 4 before I got distracted by other comics.
      I had so many books going at once that I had to stop reading Ready Player One. I didn’t get far in it so if you plan to read it soon-ish, lemme know and we could buddy read it.
      And I caught the Gone Girl movie in the middle so now I’m wondering if the book is way different from the movie. So far, I like it.

      Liked by 1 person

    • The reviews I’ve read of it make me think I’ll love it. And Arden also wrote somewhere that her fav authors were Tamora Pierce and Robin McKinley, which made me really excited. It made me instantly like her, actually. Lol!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

