lunar-new-year-book-tag-horizontal-banner

Lunar New Year Book Tag

I know celebrations for the Lunar New Year over, but I really wanted to do this tag. It was created by Tiff at Mostly YA Lit and Joey at Thoughts and Afterthoughts to celebrate the Chinese New Year. I’ve always wanted to participate in the celebration of the Chinese New Year in my area, but I’m always either too busy or forget to, and now this tag almost passed me by. Well, here’s a late Lunar New Year celebration on my blog!

I guess we should start with our Chinese zodiac animal and I’m a

cny-zodiac-book-tag-dragon

the-other-boleyn-girl

The Other Boleyn Girl by Phillipa Gregory. That book is all about royalty. It’s a historical novel about Anne Bolelyn, one of King Henry VIII’s many wives. It was a good read and I need to give it another go.

cny-zodiac-book-tag-snake

You

How about a manipulative narrator who’s so cunning that you, the reader, takes his side? And that’s Joe from You by Caroline Kepnes, the thriller novel about a dude stalking a girl. It’s hard not to sympathize with Joe, though he’s awful.

cny-zodiac-book-tag-horse

albina-and-the-dog-men

Albina and the Dog-Men by Alejandro Jodorowsky. It’s a fantasy novel I bought last year that I haven’t yet read. Here’s what it’s about from the blurb:

“When two women, an amnesiac albino giantess and a woman called The Crab, arrive in this South American desert town, their otherworldly allure and unfettered sensuality and turns men into wild animals.”

cny-zodiac-book-tag-sheep

The Final Empire, MistbornThe Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson. The U.K. covers of Sanderson’s Mistborn books are stunning. I love the minimalistic design and dash of color. They’re so pretty, I don’t want to touch them. Fingers crossed that I actually read the first one this year.

cny-zodiac-book-tag-monkey

edward-elric-gif

Edward Elric from Fullmetal Alchemist by Hiromu Arakawa because he’s so touchy about his height. Fullmetal Alchemist is an anime and manga series about the Elric brothers who are trying to get back their original bodies after losing several parts due to a failed experiment.

cny-zodiac-book-tag-rooster

the-bear-and-the-nightingale

The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden. It’s the only book published this year that I’m looking forward to reading.

cny-zodiac-book-tag-dog

Fullmetal Alchemist 3

That would be the Harry Potter books, but I think the Fullmetal Alchemist books will become a comfy read too. I love it so far.

cny-zodiac-book-tag-pig

preacher-vol-1

Comics. I bought a bunch last year because I went to a comic book expo and they are pricey, especially since I prefer the physical copies to digital ones. A comic book I’d like to get is Preacher by Garth Ennis, illus. by Steve Dillon. I think it’s about a preacher who gains special powers. My co-worker told me it’s awesome and I’d like to give it a try.

cny-zodiac-book-tag-rat

Anna and the Swallow Man 1

Anna and the Swallow Man by Gavriel Savit. This was Savit’s debut novel, which was published last year. It’s a YA novel about a young girl who survives World War II with the help of a mysterious man. Well-written and profound, it’s a story that fans of historical fiction will enjoy. I highly recommend it.

cny-zodiac-book-tag-ox

ned-stark-gif

Ned Stark from A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin. His strong morals got him … in trouble.

cny-zodiac-book-tag-tiger

Stamped from the Beginning

Stamped from Beginning by Ibram Kendi. The book tackles racism and racist ideas in America. It “bodly” does so by showing that many well-meaning folks, such as Barak Obama and Frederick Douglas and probably even you, have succumbed to assimilationist racism, such as believing Blacks are inferior to Whites. It’s a book I’d love to read. I almost bought it, but then I saw the price and how thick it is so… I’mma wait for the paperback.

cny-zodiac-book-tag-rabbit

The Blue Sword

The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley. I can’t remember if it was explicitly stated that they were involved, but I love the intensity and suggestion at romance between Corlath and Harry.

The Lunar New Year has passed
so I won’t tag anyone.
But if you’d like to do this tag too,
go right ahead.
The New Year is here
we’re living in it,
so we can continue to celebrate it!

😀

21 thoughts on “Lunar New Year Book Tag

  1. What a wonderful post!! Love this idea! I love the covers for Mistborn- so gorgeous! And You sounds amazing! Definitely agree with you about Ned Stark
    Sidenote: I was actually born in the year of the monkey, which is a nice coincidence 😉

    Like

  2. After reading Preacher, you can also start the TV show adaptation (or the other way around, your call)! 😀 Yep, another TV show to add to that list! Also totally agree with Brandon Sanderson’s series with UK cover. Since the day I learned about it, I couldn’t help but be jealous of our fellow UK friends. Such a beautiful cover. Great picks for this Lunar New Year tag! 😀

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a great tag and I love all your graphics.
    The Bear and the Nightingale was a great book – beautiful, evocative, full of folklore and myth – I really enjoyed it. Hope you do too.
    And – my star sign is also the dragon.
    Lynn 😀

    Like

      • Lol,
        some future theme even 😁

        Oh i see there are four tines and dragon is in the first tine, that one dose seem to suit you,

        i wonder if you could pick which tine i belong to,
        And which animal?

        That would be interesting to know 🐾

        I’ll let you know then 😏

        Like

Leave a Reply

