Birthstone Book Tag

It’s been a hectic week and my mind has been sluggish for most of it. I’ve tried to do some review or discussion posts, but working up the energy to do them after a busy day at work was almost impossible.

Since my birthday is almost here (woohoo!) and I’m in the mood to do a tag (oh yeah!), I’ve decided to do the Birthstone Book Tag. It was created by booktuber Jay G.

Btw, I just found this cool Pisces tattoo design. I think I’ll stamp all the posts I do in March with it.

For these questions, I’ll choose the book/character that first pops in my mind, whether they fit the question or not… Too tired to think.

January (Garnet): associated with warding off negative forces and dark energies.
Name a book with the darkest/evilest character you can think of.

Professor Umbridge

I think she’s worse than Voldemort. Voldemort doesn’t try to mask his evil deeds as something else, whereas Umbridge convinces herself that what she does is for the betterment of all. She is the most horrid character in the entire Harry Potter series.

February (Amethyst): purple is associated with royalty.
Name a book with regal qualities. You can base this off of characters of choose the King of all books.

I don’t understand the question. I’ll instead state the title of the first book that popped in my head when I saw the word “regal” and that’s The Curse of Chalion by Lois McMaster Bujold. It’s a new favorite novel of mine.

I chose it because one of its characters, the Royesse Iselle, is one of the most regal characters I’ve ever read of. I enjoyed reading of her development throughout the story. She grows from an impulsive princess to clever noble who will be a great and respected queen. She is brave and smart and I love that she manages to arrange her own marriage to save herself and her kingdom instead of leaving her fate in the king’s hands.

March (Aquamarine): washed out.
Name a ‘wishy washy’ character, a character who is not strong or a follower.

Washed out, really? Why couldn’t it get something cool like what it’s associated with? 😦 Since this is my birthstone, I’m gonna sidestep the “wishy washy” question (Pisces get such bad rep sometimes. We don’t cry all the time and aren’t weak. Damn astrology!) and do something cool, like a question based on what my birthstone is associated with.

Aquamarine is associated with the sea and with calm and serenity. I will choose a character who maintains their composure no matter the circumstance.

Well, I gave myself a hard-ass question. However, I choose Cazaril from my new favorite novel, The Curse of Chalion. Cazaril is the protagonist. At the beginning of the story, he’s been through so much shit that the last thing he wants is an adventure. Instead, he’d rather pass his days chilling, working as much as is expected of him, and avoiding the sea. Unfortunately for him, the gods have other plans. Cazaril was a wonderful character and I admired how level-headed he is and his unexpected humor during dire circumstances.

April (Diamond): a diamond in the rough.
Name a book that you loved but is not well known.

White Man’s Justice, Black Man’s Grief by Donald Goines is a Black, urban-fiction novel about a Black man who gets trapped in the prison system in the U.S. Written in the 1960s/1970s, the novel is a stark portrayal of prison life and is much inspired by the author’s life. White Man’s Justice, Black Man’s Grief is a classic that I highly recommend. It’s not the best written book, but the story is gripping.

May (Emerald): said to balance energy.
Name two characters who balance each other well.

Axel and his uncle, Prof. Lidenbrock, from Jules Verne’s Journey to the Center of the Earth.

I enjoyed this classic, sci-fi adventure novel. It was a surprisingly fun read, and the dialogue was what I enjoyed the most, especially when Hans joined the duo, though he barely said a thing. I think all three characters balanced each other well. Axel and Prof. Lidenbrock are polar opposites balanced by Hans’s neutrality.

June (Pearl): associated with loyalty.
Name a character who is loyal to the end.

Fitz from the Farseer trilogy by Robin Hobb. Fitz is loyal to his king, well, the man he recognizes as his king, to the bitter end. No matter what happens to him, he adheres to his king’s commands despite thinking them odd or crazy.

July (Ruby): blood red.
Name a book that made your blood boil; one that made you angry.

Gilded Cage by Vic James

I ripped this book apart in my review. I was so upset with it. I thought the story had a lot of potential to be awesome, but it fell flat, which upset me because I really wanted to like it.

August (Peridot): pale green (it pales in comparison to other gems).
Name a supporting character who you like better than the main character.

That sucks for peridot.

Batman in Revenge of the Green Lanterns by Geoff Johns, illus. by various artists. I read this comic book last year but didn’t like it much. I wasn’t interested in Green Lantern’s story, but Batman caught my eye when he popped up in one of the issues in this volume. He made me want to know more about him, cause he’s Batman.

September (Sapphire): blue like the ocean which is calming.
Name a book that had a calming effect on you.

This one would’ve fit the aquamarine question.

Surprisingly, listening to the Eragon audiobook, narrated by Gerard Doyle, was quite calming. Doyle did a great job. As I listened, I felt as if I was listening to a bedtime story. It was soothing after a crazy day in the office or doing errands. Eragon is a young-adult fantasy novel written by Christopher Paolini about a boy learning to become a dragon rider.

October (Opal): iridescent.
Name an iridescent book, this can be a book with a beautiful cover (shiny, lots of colour) or you can base it off of a character (quirky, colourful).

Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan

Hmm… I think this cover answers the question best; however, I prefer this cover with just a woman’s head:

I’ve had this book on my TBR since it was published and have read a chapter or two. Somehow, I forgot to continue with the story. Smh.

November (Topaz): associated with resilience.
Name a book with a character who rises to the top in a time of adversity.

Damn, that’s almost all the fantasy novels I’ve read. There’s always some crazy shit that happens to motivate the hero to change and overcome the obstacles.

But for this question, I’ll go with Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte because Jane has been through some shit: horrible aunt, horrible school, horrible boss, horrible marriage proposal. Damn, Jane. At least things take a positive turn at the end.

December (blue zircon): associated with friendship.
Name a book with a friendship you want to be apart of.

None, but I’d like to chill with Alanna and her besties from the Song of the Lioness series by Tamora Pierce. I think I’d have fun in that world.

And that’s it for this tag 😃. I won’t tag anyone, but if you wanna do it, I won’t stop ya.
20 thoughts on “Birthstone Book Tag

  1. “Axel and his uncle, Prof. Lidenbrock, from Jules Verne’s Journey to the Center of the Earth” are a perfect pairing for balancing each other out! I actually read this book for the first time this past year and was surprised by how much I enjoyed it! Have you read any other of Verne’s books?!

    Like

    • Thank you! 😀 It was on the weekend.
      As for Gilded Cage, I had a lot of issues with it, but I was engrossed while reading it. I wouldn’t mind trying another book by the author, but I think she needs to develop her world building in Gilded Cage a bit more.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yaaass to more Batman in another superhero’s series!! 😀 😀 Had a good laugh at the March question. I didn’t understand shit too LOL Happy Birthday in advance though!! Hope work doesn’t get you TOO tired to not be able to CELEBRATE your own birthday like a bawws!! 😛

    P.S. I started Taboo!!! I’m at the 7th episode (ends with the 8th, I believe). F*king love Tom Hardy maaaan. This show is sooo beautiful. Hooked since the start. So many questions, so little answers!

    – Lashaan

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lol!! Yea man! My b-day weekend was crazy fun. Partied my azz off. lol!

      You did?! Ha! I need to catch up actually, but yeah. That show is crazy man. Love the atmosphere in it. And I’m still wondering what the hell’s going on.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m glad to hear that hahaha! As for Taboo, you’ll get more answers as you progress through each episode. I love the spiritual/shaman’esque side of things. Adds such an eerie feel to the whole show. I’m at the finale now and man.. I don’t want to wait a year for the next season!! LOL

        – Lashaan

        Like

  3. Happy birthday aquamarine 🎂
    I’m with you on the ‘to hell with astrology!
    That’s so unfair for peridot and aquamarine, i reckon were awesome colors.
    Light green’s not so bad for a dog, 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I rarely put books down but I just couldn’t finish Gilded Cage. There were so many perspectives (which isn’t something I like normally), and it didn’t help that I didn’t like most of the characters. I’m sorry to hear you also found it disappointing.

    Summer

    Like

Leave a Reply

