Scavenger Hunt Book Tag

I’ve wanted to do this tag ever since Naz at Read Diverse Books posted it on his blog way back in 2016. (Last year seems so far away.) I consider myself tagged by him.

It’s said that the tag was created by booktuber The Library of Sarah; however, I couldn’t find the original tag video. I instead linked to her YouTube channel.

This tag was fun and a little challenging. It was sometimes difficult to find the books on my shelves (good thing I catalog them, which made this a bit easier). Later, when I was done taking pictures, I realized that other bloggers and vloggers included additional categories in their scavenger hunt posts, so I included them in mine too. I didn’t bother taking pics for them, though, because by then I was lazy. But anyway, let’s scavenge for books.


Find a book with the letter “Z” in its title or the author’s name.

Zana, #1 by Jean Barker, illus. by Joey Granger

Zana is one of the many comic books I picked up at the Small Press Expo last year. I haven’t yet read it, but the characters on the cover make me think it will be exciting.

Here’s a blurb on what it is about: “In a future South Africa in which apartheid never ended, the appearance of an angry ancestral spirit sets two village girls on the path to a dangerous destiny.” (Emet Comics)


Find a classic.

Gris Grimly’s Frankenstein by Mary Shelley, illus. by Gris Grimly

I discovered this illustrated edition of Mary Shelley’s popular novel a couple years ago and immediately bought it when I saw it on discount on Book Outlet.

I haven’t yet read it (no surprise there), but a quick flip through its pages revealed beautiful illustrations within. I should probably dedicate a month to reading only comics and graphic novels.

 


Find the oldest book on your shelves.

The Iliad by Homer

I decided to answer the question by considering when the books were written, so I chose The Iliad. It’s older than Beowulf and I think it’s older than the Bible as well. Since The Odyssey is its sequel, I assume The Iliad is older than it too.

I haven’t yet read it (that’s my chorus), but hopefully I will this summer. I’ve always wanted to read it and my interest in it perked up after reading Jason and the Argonauts, which I enjoyed, so I need to get to this soon.


Find a book with a key on its cover.

Locke & Key, Vol. 1: Welcome to Lovecraft by Joe Hill, illus. by Gabriel Rodriguez

A YA horror comic book about a family that moves to a mysterious house after a fateful event.

The story is intriguing and the illustrations are great. I read the first volume last year and enjoyed it. The story kept me hooked and I liked Rodriguez’s illustrations. I haven’t yet read volume 2, though.

By the way, I’m surprised that I found a book with a key on its cover. When Naz did this tag, I thought I would have difficulty with this category too.


Find something on your bookshelves that isn’t a book.

Liquor

I don’t know why, but whenever I receive bottles of wine or champagne, I store them on my bookshelves. I have quite a few of them now and even a can of beer. I don’t know why I’m stocking up on books and liquor. I guess I subconsciously want to get drunk and read or something.

I think I’ll block out a weekend to just drink and read. 🙂

 


Find a book with an animal on the cover.

Vixen by Rosie Garland

I bought this one because of it’s beautiful cover, which features a fox either asleep or dead (hopefully asleep because it’s cute).

I haven’t yet read it, of course, but it is a historical fiction novel set at the time of the Black Death, also known as the Bubonic Plague. From the synopsis, it seems that religion, or maybe faith, will be a major part of the story.

 


Find a book with a girl in the cover.

Image+, issue 1

This is the first issue of Image+, a magazine by the comic book publisher Image Comics. I chose it because it features Snotgirl on the cover, who I think is pretty dope although I haven’t yet read any of the Snotgirl comics. I just like some of the illustrations I’ve seen of her. Snotgirl was created by Bryan Lee O’Malley and illustrated by Leslie Hung.

By the way, if you look closely (I’m not sure if you can, depending on the resolution of this picture), you can see the snot dripping from her nose. Ha!


Find a non-YA book.

The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith

Since I and many others keep reading J.K. Rowling’s children’s books over and over again, I thought it fitting to feature one of her adult novels for this category.

The Cuckoo’s Calling is a crime mystery novel about a detective investigating the suicide of a supermodel. (My chorus,) I haven’t yet read it.

Zezee


Find a book with stars on its cover.

The Lonely Hearts Hotel by Hather O’Neill

Mostly Void, Partially Stars: Welcome to Night Vale Episodes, Vol. 1 by Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor

I decided to be extra and feature two books. I haven’t yet read either, in case you were wondering, but both are swathed in black, gold, and white and have stars on their covers. The effect is impressive and I love their design.

The Lonely Hearts Hotel has been compared to The Night Circus, but I’ll try not to hold that against it as I read. It will make me judge it too harshly (because nothing can measure up to The Night Circus. Nothing!!!). I have heard it’s great, however, and immediately fell in love with its first few pages, which is why I bought it. It’s a historical fiction novel set in Canada during the Great Depression that follows two orphans, who become performers (I think). It’s categorized as magical realism as well, but I’ll judge that for myself.

Mostly Void, Partially Stars is a book about the Night Vale podcast, which is a sci-fi podcast series about a town in the middle of America somewhere, where weird things happen. I recently started listening to the podcast on and off and am hooked. I think the book offers some background information on how the podcast was created and such.


Find a book with golden letters.

A Green and Ancient Light by Frederic S. Durbin

This is a historical, fantasy novel set during World War II that has influences from Pan’s Labyrinth (so the blurb says; I haven’t read it).

I don’t think I’ve read a review of this book. What initially drew me to it was its haunting cover: the creepy dark green pulls you toward the faint golden glow that’s reflected in the letters. I often saw it on Book Outlet and added it to my cart one day after reading its synopsis, which made me think of The Life of Elves by Muriel Barbery.

Zezee


Find a book with a male protagonist.

A Land Called Tarot by Gael Bertrand

A beautifully illustrated graphic novel about a knight who explores a land called Tarot and meets the people there. The story is told without words and…I haven’t looked at it yet.

My excuse is I just got it a month ago. My favorite comic bookshop convinced me to get it by showing me the pretty pictures.

Zezee

Zezee


Find a book with only words on it.

Steal Like an Artist: 10 Things Nobody Told You About Being Creative by Austin Kleon

One of the few books I own with only words on the cover tells me to steal things (smh).

I read this a couple years ago when I really started to commit to this book blog. It was okay, but motivating. The lesson that stuck with me was Kleon’s advice to research the people who influenced those who you admire to better see yourself as one of them: a writer, an artist, an inventor, etc. (And also to find further inspiration for your work.)


Find a book with illustrations in it.

The World of Ice & Fire: The Untold History of Westeros and the Game of Thrones by Elio M. García Jr., Linda Antonsson, and George R.R. Martin 

I started reading this in 2014, the year it was published, and have yet to complete it. It’s just so dry!

It’s basically a history book about Westeros, its people, and its surrounding lands. It’s informative, but the majority of information you get is what you’ve already read in the novels. However, the benefit is that you have all the facts in one spot and can quickly look up who is descended from whom and see how much the lands and its people have changed over the years.

I selected it for this category because there are many beautiful illustrations within of the people, lands, castles, and, of course, dragons!! 😀


Find a diary (true or fictional).

In Search of Lost Dragons by Élian Black’Mor (illus.) and Carine-M (illus.)

This is a fictional diary, well, journal, to be exact. I’ve mentioned this book a few times on here because of how beautifully illustrated it is.

The book is basically the journal of a journalist who searches for and documents the existence of dragons in Europe and Asia. There’s not much to the narrative because you learn about his adventure through his notes, illustrations, photographs, and other documents like tickets for travel and such; however, it’s worth the read and is an exciting story too.

Now I feel like rereading it.


Find a book written by someone with a common name (like Smith).

Heartstone by Elle Katharine White

White is a common name. I have about three Whites on my shelves: J.A. White, who wrote the middle-grade novel The Thickety; E.B. White who wrote the popular writing style guide with William Strunk, Jr.; and Elle Katharine White, whose book I selected for this category.

Heartstone is a retelling of Jane Austen’s Pride & Prejudice as a fantasy novel with dragons. I bought it back in February because I’m curious about it and have seen high ratings for it. I’m not a fan of Pride & Prejudice, but I am willing to read a retelling that has dragons in it. (I’m willing to read just about anything with dragons in it, actually.)

And as usual, I haven’t yet read it.


Find a book that has a closeup of something on it.

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

A YA fantasy book about teenagers searching for the grave of a dead Welsh king.

It’s the hype that made me read this book and when I was done, I knew I was hooked on the series. I liked Stiefvater’s descriptive writing style and loved the women at 300 Fox Way (I’ll never forget that address).

The story casted a spell on me because although I didn’t like the second book, The Dream Thieves, much, I continued on with the third, Blue Lily, Lily Blue, which felt like a stall for the finale, and when done with the last book, The Raven King, which wasn’t spectacular but kept me on edge the entire time I read, I still wanted more.


Find a book on your shelf that takes place in the earliest time period.

The Ultimate Encyclopedia of Mythology

I enjoy reading about myths, legends, and the like, which is why I picked up this book back when Borders was going out of business. It’s a great read and contains myths from China and India, as well as Greece and Rome and other places.

I chose it for this category because the facts included in this book are from ancient cultures, which, I think, qualifies as an early time period setting. (Okay, okay so I had to improvise to find an answer for this one. Whatever.)

Zezee


Find a hardcover book without a jacket.

The Travels by Marco Polo

A beautifully designed edition of Marco Polo’s Travels that’s cloth-bound. It fits the category because it doesn’t have a jacket.

I picked this up because of how beautiful it is. I would like to read it one day, but I won’t lie to myself and say I will; though sometimes these older books surprise me by being more engrossing than I assumed they would be.

By the way, has anyone watched the Netflix show based on Marco Polo? I tried it once but couldn’t get into it.


Find a teal/turquoise colored book.

Jackaby by William Ritter

I believe this is a YA paranormal novel (haven’t read it) about a guy who can see supernatural beings. The blurb describes it as “Doctor Who meets Sherlock” and I’ve heard it compared to the TV show Supernatural, so that makes me excited.

This is my favorite of all the categories because teal/turquoise is my favorite color. I think the cover of Jackaby fits the category, though its color has more blue in it.


And that’s it!
I won’t tag anyone, but if you want to go on a scavenger hunt for books,
I TAG YOU!
😀
18 thoughts on “Scavenger Hunt Book Tag

  1. Pingback: Scavenger Hunt Book Tag | Stories Have Power

  2. “I bought this one because of it’s beautiful cover, which features a fox either asleep or dead (hopefully asleep because it’s cute).”

    I laughed out loud after reading this lol I’ve never seen this book before but you had me at historical fiction set during the bubonic plague!

    Like

  3. Great tag!! haha getting drunk and reading sounds like a great time!! 😉 And the cover of Vixen is so lovely! Yeah, I’ve heard Lonely hearts hotel is good, but not comparable to night circus (you’re right- nothing really is to be honest 😉 )Heartstone sounds really interesting and wow the cover of Marco Polo is *gorgeous*!!

    Like

    • Thanks! Tipsey reading is quite fun so I’ll have a great time with these bottles and books. Lol!
      Yea, I just hope the story in Vixen is great too.
      Yep, I’m looking forward to Lonely Hearts Hotel. Trang did a great review of it couple weeks ago over on Bookidote that also made me excited to read it.
      And yea, Heartstone is supposed to be good. And I love the cover of that Marco Polo book.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

