“The Apprentice Witch” by James Nicol

The Apprentice Witch is a debut middle-grade fantasy novel that was recently published on July 25. Back in June, I believe, I saw an ARC giveaway in one of the many bookish newsletters I’m subscribed to and entered not expecting that I would be granted a copy of the novel.

The eye-catching cover called to me and I began reading the book soon after receiving it. I was immediately hooked. It’s the sort of fantasy story I’ve been searching for. It’s sweet and simple and set in a quirky village that makes me long for the fantasy novels I read and enjoyed as a kid.

Goodreads summary:

A special middle grade debut of magic and courage in a world of witches, written with the charm and enchantment of Circus Mirandus and The Apothecary.

Arianwyn has flunked her witch’s assessment: She’s doomed. Declared an apprentice and sent to the town of Lull in disgrace, she may never become a real witch — much to the glee of her arch-rival, Gimma.

Continue reading