Tough Travels #4: Adepts

Tough Travels is a monthly meme that recommends fantasy books based on tropes, themes, and clichés cited in Diana Wynne Jones’s The Tough Guide to Fantasyland. The meme was created by Nathan at Fantasy Review Barn and is now hosted by Fantasy Faction.

Since I haven’t read many fantasy books, I instead create my list at the end of the month, after reading everyone else’s, and include recommendations from them that are interesting to me.

July’s theme (I’m late):

Adepts

The Tough Guide defines an ADEPT as ‘one who has taken what amounts to a Post-graduate course in Magic. If a Magic User is given this title, you can be sure he/she is fairly hot stuff. However, the title is neutral and does not imply that the Adept is either Good or Evil.’

My picks:

I have two this month and both are kids.

Avatar: The Last Airbender

My first pick is Aang of the TV show and comic book series Avatar: The Last Airbender. Aang is both the avatar and the last airbender of his world, where people can manipulate the four elements: fire, air, water, earth. As the avatar, Aang can manipulate all four elements and can also connect to the spirit world. However, before learning he’s the avatar, Aang was a simple monk of the Southern Air Temple and an airbending prodigy.

Side note: I’m currently rewatching the episodes because July put me in a good mood that I’ve carried into August and I do my favorite things when I’m happy, like rewatching Avatar: The Last Airbender and rereading the Harry Potter series. 😊

Fullmetal Alchemist

My second choice is the Elric brothers from the manga and anime series Fullmetal Alchemist. The story is about Edward and Alphonse Elric’s adventures as they try to find or learn how to create the Philosopher’s Stone so they can restore their bodies. Edward lost an arm and leg and Alphonse his entire body when the brothers attempted the forbidden alchemic practice of human transmutation to resurrect their mother. Like Aang, the brothers are prodigies and are more highly skilled in alchemy than many adults in their world.

Side note: I’ll continue reading the mangas in August… or rewatch the anime, which I love, if my good mood persists.

Stuff that caught my eye:
From GR Matthews:

Elminster: The Making of a Mage by Ed Greenwood

What attracted me?

These phrases: “good and evil are concepts rather than defined roles”; “Gods play a role in the lives of the races”

From what I’ve read of the synopsis, it seems to be the usual farm boy learns he’s special trope, which I like.

From Thoughts on Fantasy:

The Lightbringer series by Brent Weeks

What attracted me?

The fact that most of the story is set at a place that’s like a university where people have to learn “how to ‘draft’ different colours of light,” which seems to be the magic of the world. I also add this series here because I always hear high praises of it and Nicola made me curious about the arrogant, all-powerful Gavin.

From the Bibliosanctum:

The Invisible Library by Genevieve Cogman

What attracted me?

(Well, something from the Bibliosanctum will probably always be on this list because I get a book recommendation almost every time I visit that blog.)

Also, the concept of an invisible library intrigues me and “a secret society of librarian spies” sounds freaking awesome!

That’s all.
Next month’s theme will be Strongholds, which I’m excited for.

And real quick, here are the books my last Tough Travels post made me get:

Cold Counsel by Chris Sharp

(I tried to get The Grey Bastards by Jonathan French but couldn’t find it anywhere.)

Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie

11 thoughts on “Tough Travels #4: Adepts

  1. Have you heard about the live-action Full Metal Alchemist movie that’s coming out soon (if not already.. I don’t think it has though)? 😛 Nice picks though, I suddenly feel like revisiting mangas and animes again, especially for those “classic” series that once filled my teenage days. 😀

    Like

    • I did but forgot about it so thanks for reminding me!
      You should. I felt the same recently. Apprentice Witch left me feeling nostalgic so I reread the first Harry Potter book and have since be marathoning the Avatar: The Last Airbender series. Chances are I’ll move on to the Fullmetal mangas I have next.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Yea yo! Just about every time I visit, I get a new recommendation. 😀 That happens with few bloggers and vloggers.
      Yup, I hope I get to it too. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

