Bookaholics Anonymous Tag

It’s BOOK TAG DAY!!! 😀

Actually, I don’t have a day designated for book tags, but since today is Wednesday, which means it’s an easier day than Monday, I thought why not celebrate by doing a tag that I was tagged for years ago last year. My homie, da Orangutan Librarian, hooked me up.

I’d confess that I’m hooked on books, but we all know that. This is a blog about books after all, so I’ll just hop right into this tag.

What do you like about buying new books?

The rush. It’s a heady feeling. I always feel good after purchasing a new book and it’s a stronger feeling when it’s sent in the mail because it’s as if I’ve received a present, though it’s highly likely it’s not since no one in my family buys me books as presents. 😦 They only get me clothes. Ugh! As if I like those things.

— Well, I do, but only in the fall because blazers and boots! ❤

How often do you buy new books?

Well, it used to be almost every other week. That was back when I discovered booktube and couldn’t get enough of it. But I’ve slowed down a lot since then. Now I purchase a new book whenever I learn of something that really, really interests me and makes sense to buy, which doesn’t happen very often. These days I’ve gotten better at talking myself into visiting the library instead.

Bookstore or online book shopping – which do you prefer?

Bookstore.

I discover more new stuff that way. Plus, I love to browse and see what other people choose and touch the books and smell them and check out the displays and bother talk to folks about books when I can and just get lost among the shelves.

Do you have a favorite bookshop?

I did. It was a Barnes & Noble location in D.C. that has since closed. Now I prefer Kramerbooks and Afterwords in Dupont Circle because you can buy a book and get a drink afterwards because it has a bar.

Do you preorder books?

Not anymore because my reasoning is that if I preorder a book, I should receive it before everyone else. But whenever I do, my copy doesn’t arrive until a couple days after everyone can purchase it in store.

Do you have a monthly book buying limit?

Yup!

Monitoring what I read and bought last year led me to make some changes, one of which is to set a $30 limit for books per month, except when I have coupons or see a really good deal. It has worked out well so far, though that could be because lately I can’t think of any book I really, really want and makes sense to buy.

Book buying bans – Are they something for you?

Well, I’ve tried it before but it doesn’t work for me. I either don’t stick to it or I go overboard once it’s over.

How big is your wishlist?

Erm, well… I don’t think it’s that big. My wishlist contains books that recently caught my interest and seem nice to buy, so it changes constantly. I also create Wishlists in several places so it’s kind of confusing to keep track of where they are and what I placed in them.

Which three books from your wishlist do you wish to own NOW?

Let’s see, it would be these three, two of which are in my Book Depository cart, waiting for me to hit the magic button. I’m procrastinating.

We have here Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi, which I’m in the mood to read since the hype has died down; Wyrd Sisters by Terry Pratchett because I was just introduced to Discworld through Equal Rites, which was fun, and I’d like to continue on the journey; and Avatar: The Last Airbender: The Promise by Gene Luen Yang, illus. by Gurihiru, because I’ve heard this edition, which continues the adventures after the show, is great.

Who do I tag?

Everyone 🙂

17 thoughts on “Bookaholics Anonymous Tag

  1. Pingback: The Emperor’s New Clothes Tag – the orang-utan librarian

  2. Pingback: Blog love: Zezee! – mythical musings

  3. I live in DC too and know EXACTLY where that bookstore is! I’ve never been there, though. I mainly go to Politics and Prose, which also has alcohol haha

    Like

  4. Oh no. If I were nearby I’d buy you a bookish present because we all deserve bookish presents. I’m dying to get my hands on Avatar and Wyrd sisters too. Hopefully my used bookstore has copies so I can stay in budget.

    Like

Leave a Reply

