End of Year Book Tag

And here’s another book tag! It’ll be a book-tag-filled week, if you haven’t realized. I found this one on YouTube on Ariel Bissett’s channel. She is the creator.

Again, I wasn’t tagged though the focus of this week is stuff I’m tagged for so… I’ll start on that tomorrow!! 😀

Are there any books you started this year that you need to finish?

Yes, there are. My Goodreads says I’m currently reading 11 books, which is almost correct because there’s another that I’m currently reading that I forgot to place on the list. So of the 12 books I have on the go, I’d like to complete these by the end of the year:

The Encyclopedia of Early Earth by Isabel Greenberg (illus.)

I started this back in February but haven’t completed it yet. I don’t know why I’m procrastinating on it because I actually like the bit of the story I’ve read thus far. I guess it’s because the librarian forgot to check it out to me so there’s no due date on it. I intend to return it when I’m done, but with no due date, I don’t feel any obligation to continue reading it; but it will be done by the end of year.

Wired to Create: Unraveling the Mysteries of the Creative Mind by Scott Barry Kaufman and Carolyn Gregoire

This one isn’t listed on my Goodreads currently reading list, so I’ve forgotten when I started it. It was probably last year because I remember reading it for my Try a Chapter Tag post. I do like what I’ve read so far, but I haven’t yet completed it because I keep getting distracted by other books. I will push to have it done by the end of this year. It’s not a long read.

Parasites: Tales of Humanity’s Most Unwelcome Guests by Rosemary Drisdelle

I started this one in October last year as a Halloween read because though it is nonfiction, it’s about parasites, which are scary. It’s pretty interesting stuff, but can get technical and boring sometimes, which is why it’s taking so long to complete. I’d like to finish it this year, but, eh, I ain’t sure.

Do you have an autumnal book to transition into the end of the year?

I guess so; I would like to read one of these in the upcoming months. Both will fit the autumn/winter vibe of the upcoming seasons.

The Isle of Blood by Rick Yancey

This is the third book in Yancey’s Monstrumologist series, which is a YA horror series. I think it will fit the fall season, specifically Halloween.

The Bear and the Nightingale by Katherine Arden

I was so excited for this book’s publication that I thought I’d read it soon after purchasing it, but I guess the excitement was too much because I’ve yet to read it. However, I think winter, say December, would be the best time to give it a go.

Is there a new release you’re still waiting for?
The Dollmaker of Krakow by R.M. Romero

I’m really curious about this one and would love to read it. It seems to be a middle-grade historical fantasy novel about a living doll name Karolina, who is whisked away from the Land of Dolls to Krakow, Poland, during WWII (I think), where she ends up in the company of a Dollmaker, whose life she changes (it seems).

Black, Vol. 1 by Kwanza Osajyefo, illus. by Jamal Igle

Described as X-Men meets The Wire, Black, Vol. 1 seems to be set in a world similar to ours where Blacks are constantly discriminated against, except only Black people have super powers. Can’t wait to read it!

What are three books you want to read before the end of the year?
Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi

I’m in the mood to read this, so I will start it fairly soon. As soon as I finish one of the books I currently have on the go.

Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

It’s on my list of books I must read this year, which I’m not doing great on.

The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman

It’s been recommended to me so many times that I want to finally give it a go.

Is there a book you think could still shock you and become your favourite book of the year?

Yea, there are two:

The New York Trilogy by Paul Auster

I’m currently reading this one and I find it a little boring though I like the writing and the narration, so because of that, I think it could become a favorite if I stick with it.

Black, Vol. 1 by Kwanza Osajyefo, illus. by Jamal Igle

I think I’ll love this one when I read it. I’m attracted to the idea of only Blacks having super powers and am interested to see how it mixes in today’s issues into the plot.

Have you already started making reading plans for 2018?

Umm… no. I’m tempted to start planning some things, but it might be best that I don’t because I never follow through on my plans.

Tagging these awesome bloggers:

Books and Strips

The Green Onion Blog

Books by Proxy

Books, Vertigo and Tea

Bookidote (tagging both of y’all)

African Book Addict

Captain’s Quarters

6 thoughts on “End of Year Book Tag

Leave a Reply

