Philosopher Book Tag

Have you ever checked your stats to see what weird terms lead people to your blog? I do. I did that a while ago, saw that someone found my blog by searching for “natire book tag” (I guess they were searching for a nature book tag) and decided to google that too to see where it led. It led to various book tags and since I enjoy doing such posts, I decided to do one here today — the Philosopher Book Tag! It’s the first I’ve ever heard of it. I found it on Crooked Fingers, a Live Journal blog, but it was created by Between Lines & Life, a booktube channel.

Philosophy was one of my favorite subjects in school and it’s something I’m still interested in and still try to read up on from time to time, though not as often as I’d like. I’m not well versed in philosophy, so I’m not sure this tag will go well since I didn’t read all the questions before starting.

Thales is considered the first known philosopher.
Which text introduced you to philosophy or which text would you like to read to get you into philosophy?

“Nature” and “Self-Reliance” by Ralph Waldo Emerson

Continue reading “Philosopher Book Tag”

I Heart Characters! #8: Daring & Sweet

I Heart Characters! is a weekly meme hosted by Dani at Perspective of a Writer to share our love of great characters. Each week, Dani will assign a topic/type of character that we must find examples of in the various media we consume (books, TV shows, movies, comics, podcasts, etc.).

August 23rd topic:

Character Who’d Run into a Fire to _____

(Fill in the blank! The sky is the limit… If they’d run into a fire for any reason, then they’re who you want to showcase!)

Percy Jackson

Continue reading “I Heart Characters! #8: Daring & Sweet”

Down the TBR Hole #8: More to Go

Here’s another edition of Down the TBR Hole, a meme created by Lia at Lost in a Story where we decide whether to keep or remove books on our TBR.

The rules for Down the TBR Hole:
  • Go to your Goodreads to-read shelf.
  • Order on ascending date added.
  • Take the first 5 (or 10 if you’re feeling adventurous) books
  • Read the synopses of the books
  • Decide: keep it or should it go?

I’ve switched it up some and will only list the books I plan to remove from my Goodreads TBR. Those with a green Kick Off are ones I’ll probably change my mind on and read at some point.

Batch #1

Continue reading “Down the TBR Hole #8: More to Go”

3 Bookish Things Tag

It’s book tag time! 😀

I recently saw this over Kristin Kraves Books and immediately considered myself tagged and drafted up a post. Unfortunately, I was unable to find the creator of the tag, but whoever you are good idea!

3 read once and loved authors
Yaa Gyasi

Gyasi is a Ghanaian-American author. I fell in love with her writing as soon as I started reading Homegoing, a historical fiction novel about the experiences of 2 half-sisters who were born in 18th-century Ghana and their descendants. I love Gyasi’s prose, I love the structure of the novel, and I love how impactful the story is. I consider it a modern classic.

Continue reading “3 Bookish Things Tag”

Shelf Control #7: Two from Nobrow’s Leporello Series

Shelf Control is a weekly meme created by Lisa at Book Shelf Fantasies where bloggers feature books they own and would like to read. It’s a way for readers to take stock of what they own and get excited about the books on their shelves and devices.

It’s been a while since I’ve done one of these posts, so I’ve decided to feature 2 books instead of just one. This time I’m focusing on two graphic novels from the leporello series published by Nobrow Press, a British publishing company. A leporello is a type of binding for a book that causes it to extend like an accordion. Apparently it was popular in the Victorian times and was used for photo albums and illustrated children’s books. (Visit this website for more facts about this type of binding.) 

The two books below unfold to tell an illustrated story…or so I think; I haven’t “read” them yet. On Nobrow’s website, it’s stated that using a leporello binding offers a unique opportunity of presenting a book that can also be an affordable frameable work of art.


My first pick:

Title: Bicycle

Author: Ugo Gattoni (illus.)

Genre/Subject: Sports

Published: 2012

Length: 20 pages/panels

Nobrow summary:

Inspired by the 2012 London Olympic Games, young artist Ugo Gattoni intricately illustrates a cycle race through the streets of London. From elite athletes to cycle couriers, commuters, bankers, delivery boys, mums with kids, youths on stolen mountain bikes to fashionistas and hipsters on fixed gear bikes – pretty soon you will realize this is no ordinary road race!

A recent graduate of one of Paris’ top art schools, Ugo Gattoni wowed the public with an incredible intricate pen drawing measuring approx 10 x 2 meters. His first foray into the London arts scene saw him drawing on the walls of the prestigious Hayward Gallery on London’s South Bank.

Continue reading “Shelf Control #7: Two from Nobrow’s Leporello Series”

“Dragonflight” by Anne McCaffrey

I buddy-read this with Sarah from Dragons & Zombies because we both like dragons (and zombies) and Elizabeth Moon’s Sheepfarmer’s Daughter, which we first tried to read, was too boring to continue with. Dragonflight was a slight improvement.

Genre:

Fantasy

Pubbed:

1968

Series:

Dragonriders of Pern (book 1)

Quick summary:

Dragonflight is the first novel in the Dragonriders of Pern classic fantasy series. It’s about a planet called Pern that uses dragons to overcome the Threads, offshoots from a planet that sprouts destructive formations when it orbits close to Pern.

Dragonflight begins with a girl called Lessa planning revenge on the man who brought about the end of her family and stole her birthright. However, Lessa does not yet know that her life is about to change for the unexpected because the dragonmen are on a search for a female to bond with the new dragon queen and help prepare for the return of the Threads. (Goodreads)

Continue reading ““Dragonflight” by Anne McCaffrey”

“A Duke by Default” by Alyssa Cole

Genre:

Contemporary; Romance

Pubbed:

July 2018

Series:

Reluctant Royals (book 2)

Goodreads summary:

New York City socialite and perpetual hot mess Portia Hobbs is tired of disappointing her family, friends, and—most importantly—herself. An apprenticeship with a struggling swordmaker in Scotland is a chance to use her expertise and discover what she’s capable of. Turns out she excels at aggravating her gruff silver fox boss…when she’s not having inappropriate fantasies about his sexy Scottish burr.

Tavish McKenzie doesn’t need a rich, spoiled American telling him how to run his armory…even if she is infuriatingly good at it. Tav tries to rebuff his apprentice—and his attraction to her—but when Portia accidentally discovers that he’s the secret son of a duke, rough-around-the-edges Tav becomes her newest makeover project. 

Forging metal into weapons and armor is one thing, but when desire burns out of control and the media spotlight gets too hot to bear, can a commoner turned duke and his posh apprentice find lasting love? (Goodreads)

Continue reading ““A Duke by Default” by Alyssa Cole”

“The Angel Stone” by Juliet Dark

This is the first time in years that I started and completed a series in the same year. I usually start a series, maybe read the second book, and don’t complete the series until years later. Of course, Robin Hobb’s novels are exceptions. The only reason why I’ve made it so far in them (I’ll begin the Rain Wild Chronicles soon) is because I’m buddy-reading them with Emily from Embuhlee liest. If not for this buddy-read, I’d probably be stuck at the beginning of the Liveship Traders books.

Genre:

Paranormal; Romance

Pubbed:

September 2013

Series:

Fairwick Chronicles (book 3)

Goodreads summary:

A can’t-miss read for fans of Deborah Harkness and Karen Marie Moning, The Angel Stone weaves a tale of ancient folklore and thrilling fantasy with a passionate love story that transcends time.

For Callie McFay, a half-witch/half-fey professor of folklore and Gothic literature, the fight to save the enchanted town of Fairwick, New York, is far from over. After a hostile takeover by the Grove—a sinister group of witches and their cohorts—many of the local fey have been banished or killed, including Callie’s one true love. And in place of the spirit of tolerance and harmony, the new administration at Fairwick College has fostered an air of danger and distrust.

Continue reading ““The Angel Stone” by Juliet Dark”

“The Other Boleyn Girl” by Philippa Gregory, narr. by Ruthie Henshall

The first time I read The Other Boleyn Girl was back in 2008. I was in college at the time and was going through a rough patch in a relationship. I felt as if the pace of the plot mirrored my feelings about my relationship: the ups and downs; the intensity in certain scenes; and the pressure the girls, Mary and Anne, felt to keep the king’s interest. It was a strain. It was a good read. I enjoyed it.

Genre:

Historical fiction

Pubbed:

2001

Goodreads summary:

Two sisters competing for the greatest prize: the love of a king.

A rich and compelling novel of love, sex, ambition, and intrigue, The Other Boleyn Girl introduces a woman of extraordinary determination and desire who lived at the heart of the most exciting and glamorous court in Europe and survived by following her heart.

When Mary Boleyn comes to court as an innocent girl of fourteen, she catches the eye of Henry VIII. Dazzled, Mary falls in love with both her golden prince and her growing role as unofficial queen. However, she soon realizes just how much she is a pawn in her family’s ambitious plots as the king’s interest begins to wane and she is forced to step aside for her best friend and rival: her sister, Anne. Then Mary knows that she must defy her family and her king and take her fate into her own hands. (Goodreads)

Continue reading ““The Other Boleyn Girl” by Philippa Gregory, narr. by Ruthie Henshall”

I Heart Characters! #7: A Three in One Deal

I Heart Characters! is a weekly meme hosted by Dani at Perspective of a Writer to share our love of great characters. Each week, Dani will assign a topic/type of character that we must find examples of in the various media we consume (books, TV shows, movies, comics, podcasts, etc.).

August 2nd topic:

Super’natural’ hottie

(Literally a character who is drop dead gorgeous and from a supernatural race or, less literally, a sexually diverse character who is a hottie…)

Sawyer Silver

Continue reading “I Heart Characters! #7: A Three in One Deal”