Bookish Witch Tag

From the moment I saw this tag over on Corner of Laura, I knew I’d have to do it too.

Halloween is just a few days away, so it’s the purrfect time of year to do this tag! It was created by booktuber Clair Rousseau.


Hop on your broomstick and pick a favourite witchy setting.

An Embarrassment of Witches by Sophie Goldstein (illus.) & Jenn Jordan
Moonstruck, Vol. 1: Magic to Brew by Grace Ellis, illus. by Shae Beagle

Continue reading “Bookish Witch Tag”

Addams Family Book Tag | 1964 Edition

Let’s continue the Halloween book tag trend with this Addams Family Book Tag.

I did an Addams Family book tag several years ago (check it out here) but I based the gifs and such I included in my post on the 1991 movie, which I loved as a kid. However, today’s Addams Family Book Tag was created by White Rose Stories, who loves the 1964 TV show edition of the Addams Family. This is new to me because I didn’t know the Addams Family had been around for so long. I thought the 1991 was the first one.

Well, I’m glad to learn something new about a movie I enjoyed. I’ll include the gifs I saw in Rose White’s post here, in case you’re unfamiliar with the 1964 show too.


Morticia Addams — A book containing your favourite character

Nanny Ogg

Nanny Ogg from Witches Abroad by Terry Pratchett quickly popped in my mind. She is one of my favorite characters from Pratchett’s Witches books, a subseries of his Discworld novels, which is a fantasy series set on a flat world that rests atop four giant elephants that stand on the shell of an enormous turtle that’s flying through space. The stories are silly and fun and I enjoy them.

Continue reading “Addams Family Book Tag | 1964 Edition”

Top 5 Tuesday #65: Creepy Covers Coming 😱

Top 5 Tuesday is a weekly meme created by Shanah, the Bionic Book Worm, and now hosted by Meeghan at Meeghan Reads.


This week’s topic:

Top 5 creepy covers

(Let’s chat about all those book covers that give you super creepy atmospheric vibes!!)

Brace yourself. This is about book covers, so naturally I went overboard with the pics.

I haven’t read any of these books, so I’ll link to the Goodreads page.

Krampus: The Yule Lord by Brom (illus.)

This cover is one of the creepiest to me. I try not to look at it and will quickly scroll past whenever I glimpse it because it’s the type of image that annoyingly sticks around in my mind long after I see it.

Continue reading “Top 5 Tuesday #65: Creepy Covers Coming 😱”

X-Files Book Tag

I’m very unprepared for the week, so expect MANY book tags. They will all either be Halloween-related or based on horror/supernatural themes, movies, or TV shows, like this one.

The X-Files Book Tag was created by Book Princess Reviews.

I did not know there were X-Files books, but I used to watch the show as a kid, although it would scare me. I wasn’t a big fan of it back then because I thought it was all aliens and conspiracy theories, which didn’t interest me then. But it’s been such a long time since I’ve seen the show that I’m tempted to revisit it now. Anyway… the tag.


Fox Mulder

Fox is known to have some “out there” beliefs, so name a book that you believe in despite everyone/ratings/reviews telling you it’s perhaps not that great.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, Parts 1 & 2 by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, and Jack Thorne

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the only book I could think of because although I understand why everyone deeply dislikes this screenplay, I didn’t mind it that much and even enjoyed reading it. I did have some problems with it and thought some parts didn’t work out well and think they should have emphasized that it’s a screenplay in the marketing (because I think many people didn’t realize this), but it was an okay read for me.

Continue reading “X-Files Book Tag”

Pumpkin Spice Latte Book Tags

It’s Fall!! 😀

This past weekend was the first time I felt a hint of cold since the fall season started and although I’m happy this means I’ll now have to wear boots, I’m not looking forward to the increasingly cold days that are forthcoming. But I am happy that the leaves will soon be turning and I’ll need to snuggle into the MANY scarves I have. 😊 I love dressing for fall.

I also love pumpkin spice lattes (sans expresso), which is surprising because I typically don’t like such drinks, but I enjoy drinking it when someone makes it puurfectly (meaning sweet) for me. I’ve yet to get myself a pumpkin spice latte, but I sure will shortly after posting this.

It’s been a while since I doubled up on a tag, but I had these two pumpkin spice latte tags in my queue and am too impatient to wait any longer to share them.


Spicy Pumpkin Latte Book Tag

I found this over on A Fictional Bookworm. It was created by Meeghan Reads.

Pumpkin Spice Latte: A book you didn’t think you’d love

Black Buck by Mateo Askaripour

Continue reading “Pumpkin Spice Latte Book Tags”

“The Bookshop of Second Chances” by Jackie Fraser

Oh man, I feel so bad about this because I read the book back in July and am just now doing my reflection on it. I didn’t intend to wait this long to post my reflection, but the summer months were hard for me. Now I’m surprised that I managed to post anything at all back then. But, anyway, better late than never, especially since I liked this story.


Genre

Contemporary; Romance

Series

n/a

Pubbed

2020

From Goodreads

A woman desperate to turn a new page heads to the Scottish coast and finds herself locked in a battle of wills with an infuriatingly handsome bookseller in this utterly heartwarming debut, perfect for readers of Evvie Drake Starts Over.

Thea Mottram is having a bad month. Her husband of nearly twenty years has just left her for one of her friends, and she is let go from her office job–on Valentine’s Day, of all days. Bewildered and completely lost, Thea doesn’t know what to do. But when she learns that a distant great uncle in Scotland has passed away, leaving her his home and a hefty antique book collection, she decides to leave Sussex for a few weeks. Escaping to a small coastal town where no one knows her seems to be exactly what she needs.

Continue reading ““The Bookshop of Second Chances” by Jackie Fraser”

Top 5 Tuesday #64: Spooky Worlds I’ve Seen

Top 5 Tuesday is a weekly meme created by Shanah, the Bionic Book Worm, and now hosted by Meeghan at Meeghan Reads.


This week’s topic:

Top 5 spooky worlds

(Spooky worlds are a THING. Let’s talk about all the places you never want to go… Or maybe you do want to go, if you’re into that sort of thing!!)

Yes, indeed. I’ve visited some spooky worlds in books and TV shows.

Here’s one I’ve visited often:

Supernatural

I love the show, but I wouldn’t want to live in the world Supernatural is set in. Too much drama. Too many battles against supernatural creatures. And the world is always ending because someone — the Winchesters, usually — is always doing something to fuck it up.

Continue reading “Top 5 Tuesday #64: Spooky Worlds I’ve Seen”

Spooktastic Reads TBR | 2021

Spooktastic Reads is back! 😀

Spooktastic Reads is a mini-event hosted by the Wyrd & Wonder crew — Imyril, Lisa, and Jorie — over the 13 days leading up to Halloween, so October 19 – 31. (For more info, check out Imyril’s post.)

Spooktastic Reads is a laid-back event, so there’s no need to make a TBR or to even read books for it. You participate in whatever way you like, which I’m grateful for because this is always a busy time of year for me.

I tend to always make a TBR and never read anything from it, so this time I shall instead list books I’ve already started and need to read. There’s nothing scary on it (well, one of them may be, but I doubt it). These books just give me fall vibes.

Continue reading “Spooktastic Reads TBR | 2021”

“Cinnamon and Gunpowder” by Eli Brown

I read some great books this year, and this was one of them. I’ve had this novel on my radar for some time now. I remember when it was published and how much readers gushed about it, but that’s not why I added it to my TBR. I placed it there because I love the cover.

The background color of the cover is one I love, and I like that the smoke from Mabbot’s gun forms the title and author’s name. I now know that the figures on the front are the impressive pirate Mabbot and the reluctant Owen Wedgewood, chef extraordinaire. But before reading, I wondered what I’d learn about them. It seemed an odd pairing, this sailor lady with a bound chef.

2021 is the year I finally decided to give in and read this book, and I’m glad I did. From the first page I knew it would be one I’d love; one I’d end up marking several passages in because I love the prose. As such, I had to get my own copy and went on a search to find the edition with this cover, since it’s no longer sold in stores. I was happy when I found one at a second-hand store online and now, since completing the story, am glad I have my own copy for when I want to visit the story again.


Genre

Historical Fiction

Series

n/a

Pubbed

2013

Goodreads summary

A gripping adventure, a seaborne romance, and a twist on the tale of Scheherazade—with the best food ever served aboard a pirate’s ship.

Continue reading ““Cinnamon and Gunpowder” by Eli Brown”

Comics Roundup #62: “DCeased”

I actually began a review for this several weeks ago, but I managed to misplace it. Now I can’t remember if I began the review on a notecard or on my laptop, so it’s lost forever until I don’t need it, which is when it will magically reappear as if it hadn’t vanished.

I’ve realized after running a book blog for several years now that sometimes I tend to judge a book a bit harder than I need to. I don’t know if it’s due to writing reviews over the years or from rating books or interacting with the bookish community, but sometimes I’m harder on the book, I think, because I didn’t get much else from it but pure enjoyment. But what’s wrong with loving a book simply because I enjoyed it and nothing more?

That was my experience with DCeased. I gave it a high rating after completing it because I rate books more on enjoyment than anything else, but it took a while for me to admit that it’s a favorite because all I got from it was enjoyment. I delayed adding DCeased there thinking I should have gotten more from the story. Now I think that was silly of me. There’s nothing wrong with adding a book to your favorites list simply because it was entertaining. Everyone has their own criteria for adding a book to their favorites list, but for me simply enjoying a book is reason enough. I guess I was put off because DCeased was an easy add for me. Afterall, zombies + superheroes = Zezee loves it! 😀

Continue reading “Comics Roundup #62: “DCeased””